Pasta Primavera Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was great! Like others I sauteed the veggies; minced garlic, carrot, onion, 2x green pepper(didn't have red), zucchini & yellow squash. I also saved the broccoli & fresh basil for the last 10 minutes of simmering, after adding the broth, tomatoes & paste. I did NOT add the bay leaf or sugar & didn't miss them at all! I just eyeball measured all of the dry spices & it came out 'just-right' spicy & well balanced. Served it over Angel-Hair pasta & it worked very well together. Wifey loved it! We have plenty of leftovers, for the week but I WILL be making again! Thank you, April!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I've made this several times and I don't change a thing. This is very easy to make and tastes awesome. It's also a great way to get the kids to eat more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Hays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Most delicious sauce (with additions). I pretty much followed the recipe except that I used a frozen garden vegetable mix (corn, bell pepper, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots) instead of following the specifics of what the recipe asked for. I didn't have a bay leaf so I didn't use it. I doubled the sugar to take out a little of the bitterness. And what made it great (I think) - I added a dashes of cinnamon, allspice, and nutmeg. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I doubled up on the zucchini, left out the broccoli, and used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. It was excellent over whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is a great recipe to use if you are trying to use up the vegetables in your fridge and freezer; any selection of vegetables work! It's the combination of spices that make it fantastic. This is now my go-to sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We served this over whole wheat angel hair pasta & it was a huge hit! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Delicious. I just started the tomatoes cooking and added stuff as I chopped it, so the quick cooking veggies went in last. I tossed in a bunch of things I had left over; cauliflower, nappa cabbage, some fresh tomato and fresh basil. My son suggested it should be served with feta cheese, and that's what I'll do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is my first review. This was awesome! I used frozed carrotts & broccoli and still it was great. I like my sauces kind of sweet so I used a tablespoon of sugar. Will definitely use again and again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahsgrandma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
i belong to a veggie co-op so there's always something i need to use up. this is a perfect base that can take ANY veggies! i am lazy and don't cut things into small pieces -- and instead skip the liquid and take it all and chop it up in the food processor for a not-too-chunky sauce. great on pasta or piled on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This sauce was fabulous! Other primavera sauces I've tried (oil or broth based) were so bland! Tons of flavor in this one! Made it with veggie stock instead of water and it came out wonderful. I'm gonna use the leftovers with some pearl couscous or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States