Pasta Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
After reading reviews, I still wanted to try this one. I rate it 4 of 5 because I , too, altered it but not as much as a lot of people did. I could not find Pancetta and did not want to travel across town to get it, nor did I want to use bacon (bacon makes everything taste like bacon). I did use a MILD, sweeter, thin-sliced country ham and that worked perfectly for the recipe. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly until the end. I didn't think the sauce would adequately cover 12 oz. of pasta so I added a tad more olive oil to the noodles and just before tossing the pasta and sauce, I added a can of Hunt's Diced Fire Roasted tomatoes, drained and straight from the can and mixed the parmesan with the pasta, too. I topped each portion with a little grated parmesan and crushed red pepper flakes. The pepper & tomatoes added more color and the oomph it was missing. I served it with a spinach salad and fried goat cheese and it was a great meal. I will make it again. I do have more advice--cook the noodles less than you would for al dente--do not overcook. This allows the sauce to mix well. Return the mix to the pasta pot (off the heat, of course) to let it rest before serving. Over cooking the pasta may be the reason many of the people are underwhelmed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I added some broiled brocolli to it and served it with chicken in a sherry cream sauce with artichoke hearts and black olives. I agree that it doesn't stand alone, but an excellent side dish. Plus, adding some green makes you not feel so guilty about the pancetta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was easy but, like other reviewers, just too much pasta for the amount of sauce. To pep it up all it needed was a few hot pepper flakes (or to taste) and also a few chopped black olives. This, for us, is the answer so maybe someone else will try these additions. Otherwise it is a healthy pasta dish and a good submission. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I had Pancetta that I had to use up so I tried this dish. Didn't do it for us - very bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
The flavor of this recipe wasn't bad but I ran out of chicken broth by the time the ingredients were finished cooking. I had to add another 1/2 cup of broth for this to be a sauce. Also, 5 shallots is VERY generous. I used 2 good-sized shallots & that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I thought this was pretty good. I did add some cream to the sauce at the end because there wasn't enough sauce for all of the pasta. Even with that, I would probably double the amount of chicken stock next time and maybe thicken it a little to coat the pasta better. The flavor combination of the pancetta, mushrooms, and shallots is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Loved it and more importantly all the kids and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was very good! I don't think I cooked the pancetta long enough... I would reccommend cooking it all the way until crispy before adding the rest of the ingredients to the pot, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
We made it as the main dish and felt it didn't have what it takes to stand alone. This would be great as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I just made this FABULOUS pasta dish for my family tonight and we all loved it. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States