Pasta Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I thought this was pretty good. I did add some cream to the sauce at the end because there wasn't enough sauce for all of the pasta. Even with that, I would probably double the amount of chicken stock next time and maybe thicken it a little to coat the pasta better. The flavor combination of the pancetta, mushrooms, and shallots is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was very good! I don't think I cooked the pancetta long enough... I would reccommend cooking it all the way until crispy before adding the rest of the ingredients to the pot, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
After reading reviews, I still wanted to try this one. I rate it 4 of 5 because I , too, altered it but not as much as a lot of people did. I could not find Pancetta and did not want to travel across town to get it, nor did I want to use bacon (bacon makes everything taste like bacon). I did use a MILD, sweeter, thin-sliced country ham and that worked perfectly for the recipe. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly until the end. I didn't think the sauce would adequately cover 12 oz. of pasta so I added a tad more olive oil to the noodles and just before tossing the pasta and sauce, I added a can of Hunt's Diced Fire Roasted tomatoes, drained and straight from the can and mixed the parmesan with the pasta, too. I topped each portion with a little grated parmesan and crushed red pepper flakes. The pepper & tomatoes added more color and the oomph it was missing. I served it with a spinach salad and fried goat cheese and it was a great meal. I will make it again. I do have more advice--cook the noodles less than you would for al dente--do not overcook. This allows the sauce to mix well. Return the mix to the pasta pot (off the heat, of course) to let it rest before serving. Over cooking the pasta may be the reason many of the people are underwhelmed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
The flavor of this recipe wasn't bad but I ran out of chicken broth by the time the ingredients were finished cooking. I had to add another 1/2 cup of broth for this to be a sauce. Also, 5 shallots is VERY generous. I used 2 good-sized shallots & that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was very good! I've made it twice and will make again. I also recommend twice the sauce the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy when cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I just made this FABULOUS pasta dish for my family tonight and we all loved it. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Made it per the recipe and it was good but I think next time I will spice it up a bit and maybe add some diced bell peppers to add some color and some cream to thicken up the the sauce. The pancetta was very tasty and my family enjoyed the recipe. Its a good base recipe to then personalize for your own family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Good but needed a few extras.Added more chicken broth and only used olive oil as needed.Also added a dash of non fat creamer and a squirt of anchovy paste.Decided to also throw in some cut up chicken thighs.I think red pepper flakes would be good if all of the people you cook for like spice.Save your pasta water to use instead of extra oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was easy but, like other reviewers, just too much pasta for the amount of sauce. To pep it up all it needed was a few hot pepper flakes (or to taste) and also a few chopped black olives. This, for us, is the answer so maybe someone else will try these additions. Otherwise it is a healthy pasta dish and a good submission. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I added some broiled brocolli to it and served it with chicken in a sherry cream sauce with artichoke hearts and black olives. I agree that it doesn't stand alone, but an excellent side dish. Plus, adding some green makes you not feel so guilty about the pancetta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States