Pasta Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Made it per the recipe and it was good but I think next time I will spice it up a bit and maybe add some diced bell peppers to add some color and some cream to thicken up the the sauce. The pancetta was very tasty and my family enjoyed the recipe. Its a good base recipe to then personalize for your own family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Rachum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
tried it for the first time and used spicy pancetta and wow!!!! was it good, it was one of the easiest dinners i have ever made and took no time at all!!!!! all the kids wants me to make again!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenfour349

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I made this exactly how the recipe called for. I tasted it and I needed to alter a bit. Great basic recipe but it was too dry. I added in a bit more stock and some butter and some pasta water. That made a nice shiny glaze. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I just did it today. It came really amazing. I did everything you did, step step. Really good! My mum and dad really enjoyed it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mosta, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was very good! I've made it twice and will make again. I also recommend twice the sauce the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John P Cobb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I really liked this recipe. There are a few things I changed...I didn't have pancetta, so I used some prosciutto that I had, which when added after the shallots and mushrooms were cooked a bit was awesome! I also added red pepper flakes instead of regular pepper because i like my food really spicy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmisskrys21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Good but needed a few extras.Added more chicken broth and only used olive oil as needed.Also added a dash of non fat creamer and a squirt of anchovy paste.Decided to also throw in some cut up chicken thighs.I think red pepper flakes would be good if all of the people you cook for like spice.Save your pasta water to use instead of extra oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
After reading reviews, I still wanted to try this one. I rate it 4 of 5 because I , too, altered it but not as much as a lot of people did. I could not find Pancetta and did not want to travel across town to get it, nor did I want to use bacon (bacon makes everything taste like bacon). I did use a MILD, sweeter, thin-sliced country ham and that worked perfectly for the recipe. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly until the end. I didn't think the sauce would adequately cover 12 oz. of pasta so I added a tad more olive oil to the noodles and just before tossing the pasta and sauce, I added a can of Hunt's Diced Fire Roasted tomatoes, drained and straight from the can and mixed the parmesan with the pasta, too. I topped each portion with a little grated parmesan and crushed red pepper flakes. The pepper & tomatoes added more color and the oomph it was missing. I served it with a spinach salad and fried goat cheese and it was a great meal. I will make it again. I do have more advice--cook the noodles less than you would for al dente--do not overcook. This allows the sauce to mix well. Return the mix to the pasta pot (off the heat, of course) to let it rest before serving. Over cooking the pasta may be the reason many of the people are underwhelmed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I added some broiled brocolli to it and served it with chicken in a sherry cream sauce with artichoke hearts and black olives. I agree that it doesn't stand alone, but an excellent side dish. Plus, adding some green makes you not feel so guilty about the pancetta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was easy but, like other reviewers, just too much pasta for the amount of sauce. To pep it up all it needed was a few hot pepper flakes (or to taste) and also a few chopped black olives. This, for us, is the answer so maybe someone else will try these additions. Otherwise it is a healthy pasta dish and a good submission. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States