Pasta Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Very tasty recipe. I did tweak this recipe in a very minor way by adding a bit more parmesan to Ricotta (1/3 VS 1/4) and 1 TBSP Italian seasoning to the jarred sauce as it needed to be woken up flavor wise. I layered as directed in a very large 5# Disposable Bread Pan found at Walmart which I think only carried in-stores around the holidays. This deep and large pan allowed me to create a thicker layer of Ricotta in the middle (2/3 placed in middle, 1/3 placed on top layer )which in turn creates a lasagna feel and look.I also modified the amount of parmesan from personal experience by adding 1/3 cup parmesan vs 1/4 cup. This is because the parmesan cheese will absorb the clear liquid (the whey) the ricotta gives off when cooking. This keeps your 'lasagna' drier and FAR less runny. NOTE: The bread pan inside dimensions: 11-3/4" x 5-1/2" Depth: 3-1/4" 40 gauge aluminum foil Capacity: 80 fluid oz . I estimate that this pan will hold 10-11 cups by calculating the dimensions which is just a bit less that a 2-1/2 quart casserole dish that will hold 12&1/2 cups . Pictures to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Thompson  Street
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Loved making this easy version of lassagna. I added sweet italian sausage to my ground beef from Pino's in NYC .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thompson  Street

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monique Smith
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
it was very good. I used chicken instead of beef though and it was still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
'Made this out of desperation - desperately didn't want to go to the grocery store! :D 'Had the ingredients - why not?This is one of those recipes that you can make as ho-hum or as fab as you'd like.Ho-hum with straight-from-the-jar sauce; better with your talents. :) I used a 29oz can tomato sauce,I only had rotini.Ya know, corkscrews.'Don't remember why I bought those,but half the box was gone.Anyway, 'thought I'd thicken the sauce since rotini wouldn't hold much sauce. We-e-ell, I'm glad I wrote down what I did because those kids want more.Surprised me!Yeah,I'm always up for Italian; but those kids? Food critics.Soooo,I sauteed 1 medium onion a few minutes then added 3 cloves minced garlic.A few minutes later, added 1T basil, 2t oregano, 1t sugar, 1/2t salt, 1/8-1/4t black pepper, 1/8t cayenne.Stirred to heat the spices then added 29oz tomato sauce.I let that simmer a while then thickened with 1 1/2t cornstarch & water. I put some of the sauce in with the cooked rotini.Half the rotini in an greased 8x8.Mixed together the 24oz lowfat cottage cheese (less 1c - It looked good since I was hungry. :D), the egg, the 1/4c parmesan & most of the 8oz Italian blend cheese.Put half that on top of the rotini, remaining rotini, the rest of the cottage cheese mixture & the reserved Italian blend cheese. Baked at 350.Covered till hot, then uncovered till bubbly.Well, the 8x8 was a little too small.It didn't overflow, but liquid splattered/dripped out.A smoke alarm may have sounded. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! My whole family loves it. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Yumm! I made a couple easy changes based on what I had on hand. I substituted a package of Trader Joe's frozen mushrooms with garlic for the ground beef, and cottage cheese for the ricotta. It took approximately 30 minutes to bake. It was amazing, and we will definitely make it again (with the changes)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made a half dozen or more pans of pasta lasagna in aluminum foil pans and froze them all. I'm ready at a moments notice to give a meal to someone in need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I added Italian spices. Other than that what can I say. It is an easy lasagna recipe and easy clean up. Loved it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This turned out pretty well. I keep Kosher and don't mix meat and dairy, so I used the Morningstar Farms soy crumbles instead of beef. I sauteed them with some onion, mushrooms, and garlic and used a chunky pasta sauce. You have to use a little bit more sauce with the crumbles because they absorb some of it and plump up. I also added several spices to both the cheese mixture and the sauce mixture...basically opened up my cabinet and used whatever sounded good. I remember it included basil, oregano, and crushed red pepper. Next time I might add some spinach to the cheese mixture to add some more nutrition. Not the best recipe I've ever tried, but for the small amount of effort it required, I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I've made this a bunch of times but this was the first time I made it with the meat in the sauce. Such a great addition to an already amazing dish. I always make extra cheese spread because they love it extra cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States