Pasta Isabarte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was good, but would be much better if the sauce were made from scratch. Store-bought sauce always tastes too sweet. I'm not sure the egg added much either. But was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I did this recipe when I first joined all recipes, I just never got around to reviewing it. I was craving something with egg on it and stumbled upon this recipe. Did it, ate it, and thought that this recipe is great. I wouldve never thought of putting eggs on my pastas EVER before this. Thats the only thing that makes this different really. I just read some reviews saying they didnt get what was so different. Well thats it-- egg! It was well received by my family, even by my mom. The only difference I did was, instead of using a jar of sauce, I used half of tomato sauce or spaghetti sauce and half beef stock. Maybe more tomato sauce. I wanted the liquids to be absorbed by the pasta while it was baking and I thought that by making half of it liquid it will do the trick-- And it did! Yey! The beef stock also adds more flavor, which is missing with the lack of beef/sausage/pork in this dish. Oh and I also used 3 cheese blend and mozerella cheese for more flavor and penne pasta instead of ziti to hold the sauce more on the pasta(because of the ridges). Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I totally forgot the olives and that makes me sad but even the odd combo of egg and bell pepper is great. I kind of like the bell pepper on the side rather than eating it w/ the pasta, so next time I'll grill the bell pepper with a little garlic, cheese, and tomato sauce, that way it can be a side dish. The egg is good -- not all that noticeable. I wonder if mixing the egg in with the sauce rather than hardboiling it will have the same effect w/o the white chunks? Over all this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it was wonderful! My husband and I could not get over how good it was. The eggs are perfect...next time I'll add more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was okay. I'm not sure why I expected it to be any different, but it's basically just pasta, sauce, and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I didn't see what all the fuss was about. A pasta dish with red sauce smothered in Mozzerella? Nothing extraordinary. Additionally, the only "rare" ingredients, the eggs and olives, kind of get lost in the shuffle. I will say, the veggies turned out tender and delicious. For those of you considering giving this a whirl, I would suggest adding a protein of some sort (sausage perhaps?). Also, maybe a blend of cheeses (or goat cheese?) as mozzarella seems a bit flavorless here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadtownCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I didn't like this at all but my guy loved it. I cut the recipe in half and based on other reviewers I used an entire 32 oz jar of sauce and it was perfect (not too dry and not to saucy. I used suggested amount of eggs and didn't even know it was in it so if you might want to increase it as others did. My complaint was the very strong taste of the peppers and onions. It makes a lot of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I loved this recipe it was delicious!!!! I did change a couple things though. I couldn't find a 28 oz jar of sauce so i just used a 25 oz jar of sauce and I was unable to find a 4 oz can of olives so i got 2 2.25 cans(can never have to much olives). I served it with Texas Garlic Bread and it was delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I have made this twice and this recipe is fantastic! What a nice meatless dish. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
We have made this twice now and my bf and I love it. We made a few changes - I substitute an orange bell pepper for green and add some fresh garlic. I prefer to use small chopped mushrooms in place of the black olives, and add a few red pepper flakes for some kick. Also, we upped it to 3-4 eggs depending on size. I think that if you put layers of cheese in between layers of pasta (instead of just on top) before cooking, the final dish has a little more structure and doesn't fall apart when you go for leftovers the next day. This is a great meal and makes a lot of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States