Pasta Hot! Hot! Hot! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I made a few changes, but loved this recipe! I used the suggestion of another reviewer and substited penne in place of spaghetti. I used 1/8 cup olive oil & 1/8 cup Smart Balance spread, just to add a bit of buttery flavor, but keep it healthy. Then at the last minute, I realized I had a package of fresh mushrooms that I needed to use, so I sauteed the mushrooms & tossed them in with the pasta. Yummmmmmm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Simple and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars as I thought it was just ok. I made it exactly as stated except I added half a bag of frozen diced veggies to the pasta as it was boiling. I also found it to be both oily yet dry. I will try it again and try to figure out some way to make it a bit more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was the "Italian can't eat meat on Friday dish or the "Basic Italian everything in the house dish" I make it all the time, order it out in Italian restuarants that I know I am sitting at an Italian table. My Italian friends laugh and say this is the "poor mans dish" poor or not it is a wonderful dish. Make it with Penne, broccoli and holds all the flavors better than spaghetti. This is my favorite Italian dish. Basic..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I've been making a version of this for quite some time. To notch it up a degree or two I add toasted pine nuts, sun dried tomatoes, onion, capers and sometimes quartered artichoke hearts to the olive oil mix. It's the best quick fix meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Wow, such a simple and delicious dish. It’s great as a side dish or a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a basic recipe---coming from a Italian family my mom made it with other added ingredients-- For this much oil try adding 2 cans of anchovies with the garlic and cook until the anchovies get pasty--added Italian flavored bredcrumbs till the oil gets sopped up but not to dry--- Never have tried the red pepper with this--cheese can be sprinkled on top if you like-- My brother-in-law--who is not Italian loves thsi--and many years ago--my mom made for his Navy buddies--who were definately not Italian--went nuts over this---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Just add a little flat leaf parsley and you have a wonderful main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Talk about memories! I first had this dish about 50 years ago as a young airman. I was stationed at Wheelus Air Force Base with the Armed Forces Radio in Tripoli, Libya. Our old station manager, Tom De Castro, would fix tons of the stuff every Friday evening and we'd spend the evening listening to sports events coming in via shortwave. For a couple of bucks he could feed the radio staff and the news department! And there was always that fantastic wine we'd smuggle in from Italy. Cal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I have used this recipe for years..the only thing I do differently is saute a few fillets of anchovy in the olive oil. It doesn't add a fishy taste..just a slight addition of salt..I also serve it with a tomato stuffed with a simple crab salad of mayo, crushed black olives, onion and the tomato meat that I scooped out..helps even out the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States