Pasta Fruit Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Ehh.. I thought it was so-so. It lacked a little something in the flavor department. I did use Orzo pasta in place of macaroni, and used sugar-free vanilla pudding and low fat whipped topping. I don't think though that if I had used regular products that it would have added much flavor. I like the idea of the salad, but will have to think of something that will add a little pizazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Great dessert. I used instant white chocolate pudding mix with 1 1/2 cups rice milk. I didn't have fruit cocktail so we cut up an apple, added raisins and my glazed pecans made from this site. Was out of mini marshmallows so cut up big ones. Used 1 1/2 cans mandarin oranges. Didn't use all the cool whip and processed 1 1/2 cups of pineapple chunks. If you have a hard boil you need to use more water to boil orzo pasta. Boiled for 7 minutes then drained. We had friends stop by as I was making this and I served up 9 bowls and have alot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkmarick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made this over the weekend only made one ajustment - DID NOT use the fruit cocktail but used all other ingredients in the recipe; everyone liked it...... today I made it with banana cream pudding just taste like a banana split ceserrt very yummy and easy....... its a keeper thank you Linda for the recipe =) =) =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bever-li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I'd have to agree with other reviewers. Pasta and fruit salad just don't mix. I even used tiny pasta instead of macaroni, and it just didn't feel right when you came across it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Country girl
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was just okay. We added more fruit to help the blandness, but still wasn't good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I made this for a brunch shower. The ladies liked the salad and I had several requests for the recipe. I used the acini di pepe pasta and I think that made a difference. I had to tell them that there was pasta in there. I don't know that I would have liked this with macaroni noodles. The salad reminded me very much of an ambrosia salad. It was sweet, cool, and refreshing. I think toasted coconut or toasted slivered almonds would be a great garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
haven't made this yet, but is much faster than cooking a pudding mixture. I'm going to use probably lemon instant pudding to add some zing. Pineapple tidbits too. Just about any fruit you have. Mini ring macaroni works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This recipe is actually supposed to be made with the tiny little Acini di pepe pasta, and it is then called "Frog Eye Salad" It is also truly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
The kids wanted me to try this. Unfortunately they hated the macaroni. I might try making this again without the macaroni as a dessert since they liked the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I have a similar recipe to this and am going to suggest using acine de pepe pasta as it is very small, almost like a tapioca.No one will believe it is pasta! Overall this is an excellent salad and usually the first thing to go at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States