Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Four and a half stars. Husband really liked it. These are the changes I made: used a full 32 oz. of Kitchen Basics original chicken stock. One can Italian-style stewed tomatoes instead of tomato paste. I also added about 5-6 oz of frozen chopped spinach (thawed and squeezed dry) to the sauteed onions, garlic and celery. I think this added to the texture and heartiness of the soup. As far as seasonings so, I added about 3/4 tsp of salt and about 1/4 tsp freshly cracked black pepper; also a dash of chipotle Tabasco. Kept the crushed red pepper as we like spicy food. Boiled pasta separately as per several reviewers' suggestions (thanks for that, by the way) and ladled soup over this in individual bowls. It really didn't even need cheese on top. Great flavor, low fat, wonderful way to eat some vegetables and get some fiber with the beans. Thanks for an easy soup recipe that I'll be happy to make several times this fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This is the best pasta fagioli that I have ever tasted and I was raised on this stuff. What I love most is that it is affordable, easy, and delicious. The only bad thing is that it doesn't make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Not quite the Italian version I grew up with but good anyway. This is my version: No celery-substitute chopped carrots here (sweeter). Pepper flakes only to taste-don't use if you dont like(I dont). One can diced tomatoes instead of fresh, Ditalini pasta and kidney beans can be substututed for canellini if desired, more chicken broth to give it that soupier consistancy and a must is fresh grated parmesan cheese to sprinkle when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This recipe was a big hit with my family! We had a family dinner last week it was an Italian pot luck. I was told that I would never have to go to Olive Garden again for their soup. Thanks for the recipe :D ps. I used stewed tomatoes instead of peeling them and added more sauce and broth to have a more saucy soup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
Excellent recipe! The only addition I made is some chopped spinach at the end. Served with a chopped salad and garlic bread...a fabulous meatless soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
The whole family loves this soup. It is one of our favorites. I follow the recipe exactly as written and comes out delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Excellent Recipe!! As far as other reviewers have said i did not find this recipe to spicy. I actually added 1/2 tsp of red peppers, turned out fantastic. The recipe may benefit from 1 more can of chicken broth as it was very thick but fantastic. This is especially tue if you plan to store the leftovers and reheat later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This soup is really good. I added a can of pasta style tomatoes and used Cavattippi pasta and no beans but one could substitute kidney beans for the canellini beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Made this with normal pasta not spinach on several occasions. Now a regular in my house, I even remember this one of the top of my house now! Yummy but don't freeze and reheat it unless you don't mind tha pasta absorbing all the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I can't say I particularly cared for this. It was much too SPICY and had way too much celery. If you make this, you should decrease the amount of red pepper. The best part was the smell it made. May try this again with revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States