Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This soup was delicious! It is hearty and filling with just a bit of hotness. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Lovely stuff. I made some adjustments to use what I had-vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, a can diced Italian-seasoned tomatoes instead of fresh, so I skipped the Italian seasoning and the tomato sauce. And I used whole wheat Rotini, as that's what I had open. I agree that the celery flavor is definitely there, but by the fourth or fifth bite I was enjoying it. The pepper flakes add just enough heat; I adjusted the garlic and parsley to our own taste. The cannelini beans are perfect in this. I might add some diced carrots to increase the vegetable content next time, but this was pretty much perfect and a quick, easy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was excellent! I used 1 can of diced tomatoes instead of 2 fresh, 1 carton of stock instead of a can, and a 14.5 oz. can of tomato sauce. The red pepper flakes made it have a wonderful spicy flavor but not too strong. I used 1/2 cup ditalini pasta. I served this with 'bread machine rolls' found here on allrecipes. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I tried the recipe--I think it is great. I did not have any lima beans so I used dark kidney beans. Did not have any tomatoe sauce, so I used a small tin of tomatoe paste and the same amount of water.It is still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made this recipe for dinner. Everyone loved it, my daughter even asked if I could make it again. I did leave out the celery and added locatelli cheese as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I don't know if I read the ingredients wrong, but 14 oz of chicken broth isn't enough liquid to make this a soup. Mine ended up very dry, especially after adding the pasta. Next time I will cook the pasta seperately and then add it. I ended up adding more chicken broth (about a cup) and 2 cups of water just to make it soupy. Also, I think pasta AND beans made it too starchy. Next time, it's one or the other. The flavor was ok though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hillaryb21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Made this last night for my wife and I for dinner. I rushed a little and didn't fully saute the onions and celery... got home late from work and was starved. The only things I will change the next time I make this (which will be soon) is to start the noodles in water and when they're almost done, add them to the soup, and cut down the crushed pepper to an 1/8 of a tsp. The crushed red pepper was on the verge of being too spicy. We had a Pinot Noir with this and some french bread. All in all it was a wonderful dinner on a cold autumn night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifesChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Yummmmmmy. I added a splash of marsala wine and meatballs to this soup. this is certainly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I personally don't like crunchy veggies in my soups and the cook time for the celery was insufficient to make it tender, even after sauteing an extra 10 min and simmering for half an hour. I think steaming the celery separately would have done the trick. Otherwise a good classic blend of flavors. I think V8 subs well for the tomato sauce, and canned diced tomatoes as well. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this for supper tonight, I had all the ingredients at home, and it went together very quickly. I used stewed tomatoes in place of the tomatoes and whole wheat pasta, and my husband raved over it. Said I can make this again and again. And I will, had lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States