Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made this the other night. It was fast & easy and tasted great! I used crushed tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce and orzo instead of the spinach pasta. I also added a can of chopped spinach. Will definitely make over and over again! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
If you like a veg heavy, tomatoey Pasta Fagioli this is a good recipe for you. It was tasty enough and I might make this again, but I would probably make quite a few changes. It wasn't as savory as Pasta Fagioli typically is. I also like mine more creamy and this definitely ins't a creamy soup, very tomatoey (I expected as much, but still a definite point for why I wasn't particularly happy with it). If you want a creamy and/or savory Pasta Fagioli, this isn't your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roxz
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious! I didn't feel like dealing with the peeling and chopping of the tomatoes so I used 1 can of roasted diced tomatoes in their place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
We loved this recipe, I made a double batch and added a few extra cloves garlic,3 cans broth,3 cans tomato sauce,to make a little less hearty, still very thick, but delicious! next time I will start to saute celery before everything else, as it was not cooked enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is a great soup that can be a last minute decision what with the ingredients being basic staples in most kitchens. It is very easy to control the thickness of the soup with additional chicken broth to your liking. Same with adding a bacon or sausage as others suggested. For our household, we enjoyed a "meatless" meal for a change and actually would have liked more beans. And since we prefer beans with a softer texture, I simmered those in a separate pot until it was time to add them to the soup. Next time I will add a larger can. The only other thing I changed was I sauted the veggies and spices in a bit of canola oil. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is my favorite soup ever! It is perfect the way the recipe is written. I used a little olive oil for the celery, onion and seasonings part. I keep finding canellinis on sale now which is good! I will be making this often during the cold months. Thank you so much for a completely yummy and healthy recipe!! PS: If it was too spicy for you, next time go easy on the red pepper flakes. You can always add more, but you cannot remove them once you've added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I took the advice of another review and put this in the slow cooker, since I was going to be gone all afternoon. One bit of advice if you cook it that was- put the pasta in maybe halfway. My pasta was complete mush by the end of cooking, so that it had to all be picked out. I'm going to cook some more to go in the rest of it, but needless to say it was disappointing. My husband said the soup was "OK," but asked me not to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was quite good but needed some adjustments. After letting the vegetables simmer and then letting the pasta cook, the soup was way too thick. So I ended up adding an extra cup of chicken broth and about a quarter cup of red wine. I also added some salt, sugar, and extra Italian seasoning. In addition, I had to substitute canned tomatoes for fresh, a bit of cayenne pepper pepper for red pepper flakes, and black-eyed peas for cannellini beans because those were what I had. Oh--and when I added the black-eyed peas, I threw in some broccoli florets, too, just because we needed to use them. As the soup turned out, my husband and I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My son stopped over and was starving as usual. ha ha. I made this soup with grilled cheese sandwiches. It was so quick and he loved it! I loved the fact that I know what was in it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Really easy and tasty. Very simple to add/subtract ingredients as your taste dictates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States