Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I followed this to a T except I didn't have the spinach pasta, it was plain pasta and I did add some fresh chopped spinach...however, nothing could have saved the "soup" part of the soup. By the time it simmered as in the recipe I had paste, so I added more liquid in order to keep some "soup"...even with that when I tasted it the tomatoe sauce part was absolutely flavorless (it still tasted like tomatoe sauce right out of a can) except for being hot from too much pepper flakes. I ended up adding another can of chicken broth, some dehydrated kale, but nothing could bring this soup up to speed. I've discovered that cooking with tomato sauce of any kind from scratch is a delicate balance of seasonings and simmering...otherwise its very acidic, thin, tasteless. This doesn't offer that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent soup! In this recipe, I added shredded chicken chunks for a hearty meal and replaced celery with sliced carrots. Eat with crusty french bread and you've got a complete meal. We usually don't finish our leftovers, but my family finished the whole soup in less than a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
My family loves this! I changed a few things, not because it wasn't great but because I eat vegetarian and the rest of my family doesn't. I used vegetable stock instead of chicken broth, I used one can of Hunt's diced fire roasted tomatoes (with liquid) instead of fresh and I've used several different kinds of pasta. I simmer it for 15 minutes and add the beans. I then remove enough for myself and add diced or shredded chicken for the rest of the family. Served with roasted Pugliese bread and my family raves every time!!! They make me feel like a gourmet cook!!! Thanks for the great recipe Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Simple & Fabulous! Made with a simple Italian salad and (a little) bread... Fantastic low calorie and tasty meal! Thanks for th post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
pretty bland. added extra garlic and parsley, as well as white pepper and basil. this can easily be made into a vegetarian soup by substituting vegetable broth for the chicken broth. I omitted the bean liquid (yuck!) and it still came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Awesome, quick dish. I did small round pasta instead of the spinach pasta & added some kidney beans for color and more texture. Overall GREAT dish. many thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have made this recipe 3 times now, each time with a different kind of bean, and each time it turns out awesome!! I recommend doubling the recipe as it doesn't make a lot. I have always used the canned tomatoes instaed of fresh; it tastes better. This time I didn't have any fresh garlic so I substituted garlic powder and added more broth. SSSo good with freshly grated parm cheese on top!! Healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have spinach pasta so I used regular and added in some chopped spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
It was very good, but alot of trouble for such a small amount of soup. I added fresh spinach just before serving and that was really good, but as I stated, alot of work for the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe is so simple I canmake it after work and have a meal on the table quickly. The ingredients are basic so that it is typically something I have on hand. With a nice loaf of garlic bread it makes a great meal. My daughter requests this meal weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States