Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was a great base recipe for creating a delicious soup. I made some changes: used 32 oz. organic chicken broth, used canned Italian-style diced tomatoes (with onions, basil, and thyme), traded the spinach pasta out for orzo (which I boiled before adding to the broth), used kidney beans (without liquid) instead of cannellini, added garbanzo beans, and stirred in some spicy turkey sausage (because I wanted this to be meaty). Because the sausage was spicy, I didn't add the red pepper flakes and I didn't add any salt, since the broth had enough sodium. I shredded and added about 1/2 c. baby spinach, as well. It is pretty fantastic and I'll definitely revisit this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Awesome! So flavorful and perfect consistency. I ended up only using 1/2 a can of beans... as well as adding 1/2 cup frozen spinach + 1 carrot. This soup is so flexible, adding anything could be great! I also learned how to blanch tomatoes as a result of this recipe... so that was fun. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We loved this recipe! Had it for dinner the other night and having it again tonight with some crusty bread. My husband used a little beef broth mixed with the chicken broth because he didn't have enough. Other than that we did the recipe as it reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Excellent! I've been cooking since I'm 3 with my aunt and now I make this for my children. Fresh, healthy and filling. We love it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Doubled, added 2 tsp of siracha and a pound of cooked ground beef and left out celery and onions. Thanks! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I eliminated the chopped tomatoes and tomato sauce, and instead used 2 cups Cento All-in-One Crushed Tomatoes and 3 cups chicken broth. I also use Ditalini instead of spinach pasta, as that is our family's tradition for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Very good! 5 Stars for taste & simplicity- my 2 favs! Added a pound of Italian sausage & a bay leaf. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I loved this! And it's great for a potluck where you need a vegetarian dish. Just use vegetable stock instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Welch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I followed the directions to the note and this was a hit. I have made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States