Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This recipe was fantastic! I used Italian Sausage and Chorizo instead of Bacon though. And I accidently cooked the pasta too long which thickened the soup quite a bit. So keep and eye on the timer ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMUIGIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The first time we tried the recipe it was great but needed some extra help. We replaced the bacon with ½-pound Italian sausage cooked and finely chopped in a food processor. We added ¼ cup diced onions and 1 more cup of water. We found during first time, after adding the pasta, the soup was bit too thick. We also halved the salt (½ and ¼ teaspoon), because after adding cheese, we found it a little salty. We also substituted pasta with whole-wheat elbows. The recipe was a 5 star to start, the 2nd time we made it with these modifications we needed 6th star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This is a great soup! I only make a half batch at a time. I have also made it without the pasta and extra beans; my husband actually prefers it this way. Super simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
recipe calls for way too many noodles and too much bacon; besides, italian suasage is probably a better choice. but the flavor is great -- try adding celery, different beans, carrots -- a good recipe to build on and make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Angela - great soup! My husband and I made this last night, and couldn't wait to have it for lunch today. I wasn't sure whether he'd like it - he typically isn't interested in something with a lot of canned ingredients. So, I added frozen spinach instead of canned, and he added a large onion, some Lea & Perrin, and a bay leaf. We'll definitely have it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Great basic recipe! I modified it a bit, though. I used spicy italian sausage(removed from casings) that I browned with half an onion before adding it to the soup. I also used a large bunch of fresh spinach instead of canned. The soup thickened a great deal on the second day of reheating. I will use much smaller pasta next time, though, because after re-heating, the pasta broke down quite a bit. Very good, though. I served it with fresh baked bread and grated grana padana cheese. Wonderful for a snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This soup was great! Following the advice of some others, I only added one can of diced tomatoes and about 1/2 the bacon and no additional salt. I also used one can of cannelline and one great northern bean and added some carrots. After the addition of the pasta, I used ditalini, it really thickened, so I added another can of broth and a small can of tomato sauce...it makes alot and is delicious when topped with the grated cheese! I strongly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I had high hopes for this recipe based on the reviews and was disappointed. I felt the soup was too liquidy and tomato-ey. Next time I would only use a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes rather than the 29 oz. it called for. I also only used large seashell pasta as thats what I had on hand and perhaps it would have been better with smaller pasta. I think I will stick to my tradional way of making pasta fagioli. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This recipe is FANTASTIC. To "kick it up a notch" I use crumbled hot italian sausage in place of the bacon, add a dash or two of crushed red pepper, include the liquid from the spinach, and use one of those "Natural Goodness" boxes of chicken broth. The seashells tend to asborb a lot of the liquid after sitting for a while, so I like to use the small shells, and fewer than 1/2 the bag. I get rave reviews on this ALL THE TIME and it is some of my friend's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I thought my pasta fagioli was really good but this recipe is even more flavorful and delicious. My whole family of 6 gobbled it up. Will definately make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States