Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe is the closest to how my mom made it when I was a kid! I modified it slightly(used soy bacon and veggie broth) to become vegan for a friend of mine and it still came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was wonderful soap. I made this for my Mom who will soon be 93. I need to be sure she eats healthy. She loved it. My sister-in-law and brother-in-law also thought it was great. I still have some in my freezer. I will take it out in a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Love, love, love this recipie. It is fast, easy and the results are fantastic!!! That being said, I did make some major changes mostly to reduce the level of fat and salt, so I could feel a little better about serving it to my family. Sauteed and onion and 2 cloves fresh garlic in a dutch oven. Then added about 1/2 to 3/4 cup finely chopped turkey smoked sausage to pan. Added diced tomatoes, 1 can great northern beans and 1 can navy beans (rinsed and drained, to reduce the salt),1 - 2 cups fresh spinach, 2 cans chicken broth, tomato sauce, fresh parsley, salt, pepper and fresh basil if I have it, if not then I use 1 teaspoon of basil. Simmered for approximately 40 minutes, then added the pasta at the end, but not as much and the submitter recommended, maybe about 1/4 - 1/2 cup cooked pasta... I like ditalini. Anyways really great topped with parmesian cheese. I also like to add a couple of cups of cooked, diced chicken breast to the ingredients as they simmer as it makes the meal heartier... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I made this for my Bunco group of 11 women. While I tried to do it right, of course, I botched it up! However, they all loved it! I used my crockpot and started it early in the day... put the pasta in too early so it got mushy - oh well. Forgot to put the spinach in (I bought fresh) but it still ended up okay. I added fresh garlic (lots) and onions and then added more garlic and seasoning as it cooked. It was quite tasty and the ladies loved it - mushy pasta and all! Thanks for this one - husband also said to put it into rotation - without the spinach for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Overall a good soup. Needs a little something more though. Good for a quick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
A very nice recipe that has plenty of room for adjustments and personal tastes. I used fresh spinach and added a can of peas. Didin't want to use bacon so I browned chunks of mild italian sausage instead. Yum! I also chopped 1/4 of a vidalia onion, used fresh parsley and threw in a little sugar and crushed red pepper. I felt like the soup lacked richness so I poured in a little olive oil and right at the end tossed in about 1 Tbsp. butter. Served it with grated parmesan cheese and "Whole Wheat Beer Bread" from this site. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I just have to say Thank You! This is soooo good. I took Chicagocook's review tips and sauteed onion and celery with garlic first, only used 1 can of diced tomato and 5 strips of bacon as he/she suggested and I used a bag of fresh spinach and ditalini pasta just because that is what I had on hand. The seasonings are perfection in this recipe - some fresh baguette and a nice ceasar salad and you have a wonderful meal. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarieM
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Great! So many great flavors and textures in this soup. We followed recipe except we only added 3 slices bacon and did not add water, but did add extra can of chicken broth (low sodium). In addition, we added some shitake mushrooms and 1 and a half teaspoon chipotle Tabasco sauce to make it more smokey flavor. Added combo of freshly ground Romano and Parmesan cheese before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Great soup. My family loved it. I added some extra veggies. I will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jacinan
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
this is what i had in my pantry the wintery day i made this great soup i didn't use any bacon I had a box of frozen spinach i had garbonzo beans and a litte chunked chicken breast and used Campanelle pasta. I did follow the recipe as closely as possible. moto bene`
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacinan
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States