Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The changes I made were omitting the bacon and doing about 3/4 lb. of mild Italian sausage (cut up into small pieces), adding an additional 2 cups of water (so 5 cups total), using a bag of frozen spinach instead of canned, only using one teaspoon of minced garlic instead of one tablespoon (way too much), doing ditalini pasta instead of shells, and reducing the salt down to 3/4 tsp instead of 1.5 tsp. Very yummy, hubby ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Vale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delightful recipe, although time consuming to pull together. My husband loved it, too. Told him next time time he had to wash up the pots and pans, tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Pretty darn good! I substituted bulk italian sausage for the bacon, as I'm not s bacon fan. It made a ton of soup and yummy. I used ditalini as that's the pasta I had. One thing I would change is the spinachy flavor. Next time I think I'll use fresh spinach, I think that will make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
A very nice soup. I omitted the bacon, because I don't really care for bacon in most soups or pasta dishes. I didn't have any Italian sausage but if I make this again, I'd like to try it with sausage. I used 5 clumps of frozen spinach, and one can of white beans and one can of chickpeas. I also added some red pepper flakes, but it could have used more of a kick. I would definitely use a bit less tomatoes next time. Good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great recipe, the family loved this soup. I added the frozen chopped spinach and Italian sausage. I put a bit too much pasta so I added more water and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I might be the lone dissenter on this one. This soup is just ok in my opinion. I followed the recipe exactly. I thought the taste was really flat and one dimensional. I had to add some spice. Secondly, I just really hated the canned spinach in this. It actually made the soup taste like "can" I think I would use fresh instead. This did make a large amount of soup unfortunately I'm not sure it will get eaten. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Not sure quite how to rate this, 'cause I did make quite a few changes based on other reviews and my own preferences, but the soup I ended up with was AWESOME! I began by sauteeing 1/2 an onion and celery in about 2 tsp of olive oil in my Dutch oven. Once the veggies were tender, I added the 2 cans of undrained beans, 6 cups of chicken broth, an 8 oz can of tomato sauce, 1 cup of water, 2 tsp of minced garlic and the spices... although I cut back to 1/2 tsp of salt since I used more broth, and also added 1/2 tsp of oregano and 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes. While simmering for the 40 minutes, I sauteed 1 lb hot turkey italian sausage (removed from casings) and then drained the excess grease. Once the soup was done simmering, I added a package of FRESH spinach and it wilted within a couple minutes, and then stirred in the sausage. I added about 1.5 cups of whole wheat elbows and simmered for another 5 minutes, then removed from heat, so they gradually cook the rest of the way while the soup cooled. I added fresh parmesan and fresh cracked pepper to each serving and it was one of the best soups I've ever had! Thanks for the jumping off point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
i didnt' have all of the ingredients and it was still tasty. i used kidney beans and french cut green beans instead of spinach because i didn't have the others on hand. it cooked easily and fast and was great. i didn't give it 5 stars because though it was good it didn't keep me satisfied. maybe i will add ground beef next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
We thought this was fantastic! Here are the minor changes I made to suit our tastes: 1 can of kidney beans in place of the 2 cans of northern beans; I used fresh basil and parsley from my garden (though dried would be fine); and I used fresh chopped spinach rather than frozen. Very tasty. The bacon gives it a nice smokey taste. Just be sure to salt it only to taste as it could easily be overdone if you use a salty chicken broth or the full amount of bacon. I added only 1/2 tsp and it was plenty for us. Also, if you are not going to consume all of the soup in one meal, I like to boil the pasta on its own and add it to each individual bowl as I serve it. This keeps it from absorbing all your liquid or becoming soggy when you store your left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I thought this was great! I had to make a few changes: I added 1# italian sausage, I only had 1 can of the Northern beans & used dk red kidney beans as a sub for the 2nd can, I left out the bacon, added onion & fresh garlic, omitted the salt, and used ditalini pasta. After tasting I added some sage, marjoram, more basil & some sugar to cut down on the acidity from simmering the tomatoes. I may try adding bacon to the leftovers- I mainly didn't feel like cooking it in addition to making the soup. Overall great recipe & I'll make this again with the same modificaitons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States