Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great recipe, the family loved this soup. I added the frozen chopped spinach and Italian sausage. I put a bit too much pasta so I added more water and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I might be the lone dissenter on this one. This soup is just ok in my opinion. I followed the recipe exactly. I thought the taste was really flat and one dimensional. I had to add some spice. Secondly, I just really hated the canned spinach in this. It actually made the soup taste like "can" I think I would use fresh instead. This did make a large amount of soup unfortunately I'm not sure it will get eaten. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Not sure quite how to rate this, 'cause I did make quite a few changes based on other reviews and my own preferences, but the soup I ended up with was AWESOME! I began by sauteeing 1/2 an onion and celery in about 2 tsp of olive oil in my Dutch oven. Once the veggies were tender, I added the 2 cans of undrained beans, 6 cups of chicken broth, an 8 oz can of tomato sauce, 1 cup of water, 2 tsp of minced garlic and the spices... although I cut back to 1/2 tsp of salt since I used more broth, and also added 1/2 tsp of oregano and 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes. While simmering for the 40 minutes, I sauteed 1 lb hot turkey italian sausage (removed from casings) and then drained the excess grease. Once the soup was done simmering, I added a package of FRESH spinach and it wilted within a couple minutes, and then stirred in the sausage. I added about 1.5 cups of whole wheat elbows and simmered for another 5 minutes, then removed from heat, so they gradually cook the rest of the way while the soup cooled. I added fresh parmesan and fresh cracked pepper to each serving and it was one of the best soups I've ever had! Thanks for the jumping off point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
i didnt' have all of the ingredients and it was still tasty. i used kidney beans and french cut green beans instead of spinach because i didn't have the others on hand. it cooked easily and fast and was great. i didn't give it 5 stars because though it was good it didn't keep me satisfied. maybe i will add ground beef next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
We thought this was fantastic! Here are the minor changes I made to suit our tastes: 1 can of kidney beans in place of the 2 cans of northern beans; I used fresh basil and parsley from my garden (though dried would be fine); and I used fresh chopped spinach rather than frozen. Very tasty. The bacon gives it a nice smokey taste. Just be sure to salt it only to taste as it could easily be overdone if you use a salty chicken broth or the full amount of bacon. I added only 1/2 tsp and it was plenty for us. Also, if you are not going to consume all of the soup in one meal, I like to boil the pasta on its own and add it to each individual bowl as I serve it. This keeps it from absorbing all your liquid or becoming soggy when you store your left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I thought this was great! I had to make a few changes: I added 1# italian sausage, I only had 1 can of the Northern beans & used dk red kidney beans as a sub for the 2nd can, I left out the bacon, added onion & fresh garlic, omitted the salt, and used ditalini pasta. After tasting I added some sage, marjoram, more basil & some sugar to cut down on the acidity from simmering the tomatoes. I may try adding bacon to the leftovers- I mainly didn't feel like cooking it in addition to making the soup. Overall great recipe & I'll make this again with the same modificaitons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great the first day but, if you freeze it fot later, the bacon becomes overwhelming. If you plan to have extra, delete the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Delicious! The hubs and all 5 kids loved this soup. They even ate the spinach! I used Italian sausage instead of bacon, but would definitely make it with bacon if I had it. It would be good either way. It would even be good if you made it vegetarian and didn't put any meat in it at all. The only thing I would change is not to add the salt. But that is just a personal preference. The canned chicken broth would have made the soup salty enough for me (and I used low sodium), but my kids liked it just the way it was. Next time I will leave the extra salt out and let them add their own. The recipe also made A LOT of soup! I almost cut it in half because it looked like it would make a lot, but decided to go ahead with the full recipe. Now I have leftovers for lunch tomorrow and then some!! Thanks for an easy, quick, yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent soup! The only thing I changed was that I used sausage instead of bacon. Family loved it! Brought it to work for a soup day, and it was the first soup to disappear! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is a great recipe. I omitted the bacon and used ground Italian sausage instead. I also used fresh spinach and beef broth, rather than chicken broth. This is a delicious, hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMEEKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States