Pasta Fagioli II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Very much like the pasta fagioli at out favorite restaurant - great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
When sauteing the garlic, onion, and thick sliced bacon, I added 1 T. of brown sugar. Read some of the previous reviews and noted there were some comments about the recipe having too much liquid - since we prefer thicker soups versus thin, I only added 1 quart of water. Smells divine while cooking and so delicious tasting plus today our weather here in North Carolina is bitterly cold and this was just perfect. Thanks FML31 for sharing your recipe on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group and it is DELICIOUS! I did mince my garlic instead of using the whole cloves because I didn't want to have fish them out and chop them up later (yes, I'm lazy, lol), and I used 1 carton (4cups) of chicken broth and 4 cups water instead of the boullion cubes. Also, I used ditalini pasta instead of penne because that's the way we've always had any type of pasta fagioli, so it was just a personal preference that wouldn't affect the flavor at all. We really loved the flavor that the bacon gave to this, in fact, all the flavors blended beautifully. I will be using this recipe over and over again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
My family loved this recipe. The flavors blended together perfectly. My son wants me to make this for his football team dinner when it is my turn to cook the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
excellent. I did make some changes though. I added half the garlic to begin with and leave it in there. I added 2 small carrots shredded, 2 celery stalks chopped small, 2 cans chunky tomato sauce with italian seasoning and 2 cans white beans. I double the spices and add only 2 cups of water. I don't ever add the pasta directly to the soup. I add it to each bowl as I am ready to serve because pasta will continue to cook in the soup and you will have mush. If you have left overs, they freeze well - without the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This Was the Best Pasta Fagioli I have ever made. I don't like garlic much but followed the recipe anyway, the garlic flavor is not overpowering at all. Pasta Fagioli is a soup, it should be loose not thick, this is how it should be. I thought the ingredients were perfect. I didn't add any more tomato because it should only be a hint of tomato. YUMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is a little more work than other recipes, but so worth it! I used fresh herbs as I had them growing outside my kitchen. When the time came to fish out the garlic cloves, I couldn't find all of them. I smashed what I found and returned it to the pot. I never did find the others. This was delicious served with Beer Bread I from this site. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very good! I did leave out the bacon and add in a little ground beef because but that was simply to suit our family's taste. I essentially just dumped everything in the pot once the meat was browned and let it go for awhile. Smelled and tasted delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
your recipe was on the money. I'm a retired chef of 40 years & did much italian cuisine This is similar to the way I use to make it except I used fresh herbs, cut back on the garlic & used real chiken stock. For those that complained about it being to watery. It's suppose to be soupy. Great for dunking in french or italian bread. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delish!! Just Brown bacon before adding onions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States