Pasta Fagioli II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
excellent. I did make some changes though. I added half the garlic to begin with and leave it in there. I added 2 small carrots shredded, 2 celery stalks chopped small, 2 cans chunky tomato sauce with italian seasoning and 2 cans white beans. I double the spices and add only 2 cups of water. I don't ever add the pasta directly to the soup. I add it to each bowl as I am ready to serve because pasta will continue to cook in the soup and you will have mush. If you have left overs, they freeze well - without the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
this is really watery, you'd have to puree some beans to get any thickness to it. The flavour is really like canned soup with garlic (and I love garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
your recipe was on the money. I'm a retired chef of 40 years & did much italian cuisine This is similar to the way I use to make it except I used fresh herbs, cut back on the garlic & used real chiken stock. For those that complained about it being to watery. It's suppose to be soupy. Great for dunking in french or italian bread. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Made this for RECIPE GROUP, actually made it twice. The first time I followed the recipe and instructions to a "T", the second time around I made a few changes (for the better, IMO). My rating is based on the original, which is a good soup with a nice flavor. My second version I added 2 stalks diced celery, and 2 peeled, diced carrots to the onion/bacon stage. I even used a couple more cloves of garlic since the flavor mellows when cooked like this and we LOVE garlic, I mashed all of the cooked cloves with a fork and a little of the broth and mixed it all right back in. I also used whole wheat penne since we don't eat white pasta or rice in my house. I also used 8 cups chicken broth, in place of the 2qt. water and 2 boullion cubes. If served immediately this soup has a nice broth (especially with the can of tomato sauce), the leftovers however become a casserole, a delicious casserole nonetheless. A little water to thin it back to soup does the trick and the leftovers are delicious! Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group and my kids and I really enjoyed it. I used to live in Utica, NY which has a very large Italian population so I enjoyed dishes like Pasta Fagioli from lunch take-outs. This recipe has more bacon than I remember, probably because those places were trying to cut back on food costs but more bacon is not a bad thing! Be sure to taste before adding salt. I like salty food but didn't need to add any. It was even better the second day when I heated it up for lunch. Thanks for a healthy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. Like some of the other reviewers, I added a second can of beans. I substituted chicken broth for the boullion and water to cut down on the salt but upped the herbs and peppers to keep the flavor. I also drained the beans before adding to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group - 12/31/2011. This soup was very disappointing. Please note that every time we’ve had Pasta Fagioli it has been at the North End, so perhaps we’re pasta fagioli snobs. You just can’t beat the Italian food at the North End. I decreased the water content which I would recommend to anyone trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group and it is DELICIOUS! I did mince my garlic instead of using the whole cloves because I didn't want to have fish them out and chop them up later (yes, I'm lazy, lol), and I used 1 carton (4cups) of chicken broth and 4 cups water instead of the boullion cubes. Also, I used ditalini pasta instead of penne because that's the way we've always had any type of pasta fagioli, so it was just a personal preference that wouldn't affect the flavor at all. We really loved the flavor that the bacon gave to this, in fact, all the flavors blended beautifully. I will be using this recipe over and over again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
When sauteing the garlic, onion, and thick sliced bacon, I added 1 T. of brown sugar. Read some of the previous reviews and noted there were some comments about the recipe having too much liquid - since we prefer thicker soups versus thin, I only added 1 quart of water. Smells divine while cooking and so delicious tasting plus today our weather here in North Carolina is bitterly cold and this was just perfect. Thanks FML31 for sharing your recipe on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is a little more work than other recipes, but so worth it! I used fresh herbs as I had them growing outside my kitchen. When the time came to fish out the garlic cloves, I couldn't find all of them. I smashed what I found and returned it to the pot. I never did find the others. This was delicious served with Beer Bread I from this site. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States