Pasta Fagioli II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
this is really watery, you'd have to puree some beans to get any thickness to it. The flavour is really like canned soup with garlic (and I love garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
My family loved this recipe. The flavors blended together perfectly. My son wants me to make this for his football team dinner when it is my turn to cook the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
excellent. I did make some changes though. I added half the garlic to begin with and leave it in there. I added 2 small carrots shredded, 2 celery stalks chopped small, 2 cans chunky tomato sauce with italian seasoning and 2 cans white beans. I double the spices and add only 2 cups of water. I don't ever add the pasta directly to the soup. I add it to each bowl as I am ready to serve because pasta will continue to cook in the soup and you will have mush. If you have left overs, they freeze well - without the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Very much like the pasta fagioli at out favorite restaurant - great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. Like some of the other reviewers, I added a second can of beans. I substituted chicken broth for the boullion and water to cut down on the salt but upped the herbs and peppers to keep the flavor. I also drained the beans before adding to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I disagree that this is too soupy. I did add a larger can of tomato sauce and cut back on the water by a cup. Also added just a bit extra pasta and bacon. But otherwise followed recipe exactly. The best thing about the recipe is that it's pretty easy and you can make it in one pot! I was hesitant to put in too much salt because of the bacon and bouillon cubes, but it definitely needed a fair amount of salt. It also tasted slightly bland, but I added a little hot sauce, and it perked things up just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This Was the Best Pasta Fagioli I have ever made. I don't like garlic much but followed the recipe anyway, the garlic flavor is not overpowering at all. Pasta Fagioli is a soup, it should be loose not thick, this is how it should be. I thought the ingredients were perfect. I didn't add any more tomato because it should only be a hint of tomato. YUMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is a little more work than other recipes, but so worth it! I used fresh herbs as I had them growing outside my kitchen. When the time came to fish out the garlic cloves, I couldn't find all of them. I smashed what I found and returned it to the pot. I never did find the others. This was delicious served with Beer Bread I from this site. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very good! I did leave out the bacon and add in a little ground beef because but that was simply to suit our family's taste. I essentially just dumped everything in the pot once the meat was browned and let it go for awhile. Smelled and tasted delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
When sauteing the garlic, onion, and thick sliced bacon, I added 1 T. of brown sugar. Read some of the previous reviews and noted there were some comments about the recipe having too much liquid - since we prefer thicker soups versus thin, I only added 1 quart of water. Smells divine while cooking and so delicious tasting plus today our weather here in North Carolina is bitterly cold and this was just perfect. Thanks FML31 for sharing your recipe on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States