Pasta De Sardine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I used 4 cloves garlic and sardines in olive oil (drained), and 4 TB tomato and basil pasta sauce. My husband (who is not a fish fan) absolutely loved it! I loved not only the taste, but it was very quick to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
If you're looking for an easy,cheap, but unusual meal, this is it!(...if you like sardines) I altered the recipe to use what I had on hand. Instead of the sardines in tomato sauce, I added sardines in olive oil ,one small tomato, 2 t of tomato sauce, and a splash of red wine.I cooked less pasta to serve two, so it was probably a lot more "sardiney" than the original recipe. I'll definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very tasty dish and oh so cheap! Both hubby and I loved it. I added chopped black olives and 2 tblsp of Tomato Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb S

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was a good recipe to use some leftover pasta and a few scraps from the cupboard and fridge, and made a decent lunch for two. I added some leftover black olives and reconstituted sundried tomatoes, upped the garlic and threw in some carrot matchsticks for balance and appearance. I like the distinct taste of seafood that you get, but I think canned sardines are not substantial enough to provide the texture and spectrum of flavor that you expect from seafood pasta. My boyfriend said that it would be great without the "mystery meat" qualities of the sardines. This is a great base recipe, and I think I may try again and add some rinsed canned shrimp or some leftovers from a seafood dinner. Final verdict: this is a nice filling $2 meal (less if leftovers/scraps) but don't expect the world from it. A word of caution: canned sardines will stink up your house when heated (if you've ever been to a wharf in the summer, you know the smell). Prepare some scented candles/inscense if expecting company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Really good! I used sardines in soybean oil, and just skipped the whole tomato bit, and it still came out fine. Also, when the sardines are in the pan, you can either stir them a lot as they heat and they can turn into a mushier sauce, or just gently turn them for more large chunks of fish in your dish. Either way- delicious! I didn't have any onion, but I added half a cup of chopped fresh parsley and the parmesan straight into the pan when the flavors "absorb." SO tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This recipe is five stars because it is so easy to prepare, & It has a really unique flavor. If you like seafood, try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONJAROX
Home Town: Erd, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I actually thought I invented this recipe))) I have it probably every couple weeks since there are usually lots of canned sardines in olive oil in my pantry))) No lemon,onion and garlic for me though but I add some lettuce/cabbage for crunch. Very versatile like any pasta dish - you can add any veggies you want and if you don't like tomato sauce just use plain sardines in olive oil. Also almost any cheese would do. With whole wheat pasta even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The lemon juice makes this dish! I never would have thought to use lemon juice, but it tasted really plain, blah, before adding it. Used inexpensive herring in hot tomato sauce, two cans for two servings (can says one serving per can).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I'm one of those straight-out-of-the-tin sardine lovers, so this was a good dish to try. This recipe is a good base, but I prefer it to have more of a kick--I added several tablespoons of canned pasta sauce that included hot peppers. I think the quality of the dish depends on the brand of sardines used. Some brands may not actually have sardines, but herring and other types of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Excellent! Used one can of sardines in soy oil and one can of sardines in tomato sauce. Added two fresh tomatoes, some basil, onions, garlic, and a dab of tomato paste. Super quick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States