Pasta de Sardine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Very nice! I used sardines in olive oil and added canned tomatoes. I also was lucky enough to have kalamata olives on hand, which really made the dish a 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I was fairly unimpressed with this. First of all I did have to make a fair amount of alterations - I added tomato sauce as other reviewers had since my sardines were in oil, I had to add more olive oil and a few tablespoons of vegetable broth just to get my sardine and onion goop to resemble something like a sauce, and I only had about half the required amount of lemon juice. I also used rather more garlic and red pepper than called for. However, when I was done, the dish was bland, didn't taste particularly like sardines or tomato, and I had to add a generous sprinkling of parsley and more red pepper before I could enjoy eating it. Perhaps this is a case of my slap-dash cooking methods getting the best of me (measuring? who measures?) but I felt that even had I followed it to a T this recipe probably would not have been worthy of the 5 star rating it currently totes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This one tasted a bit strange for my buds. I’ll try tweaking it a little if I come across more sardines in the house. Maybe a little less fish or try sardines in oil rather than tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Really good! I used sardines in soybean oil, and just skipped the whole tomato bit, and it still came out fine. Also, when the sardines are in the pan, you can either stir them a lot as they heat and they can turn into a mushier sauce, or just gently turn them for more large chunks of fish in your dish. Either way- delicious! I didn't have any onion, but I added half a cup of chopped fresh parsley and the parmesan straight into the pan when the flavors "absorb." SO tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I'm a working mom. and in my quest to find the best easy-to-cook recipes - this was... WOW!!! So simple (and let's not forget cheap!!). At first I felt that the garlic didn't quite fuse in well.. so i added a few dashes of garlic salt - YUMMY!!! this is definitely on my to-prep-again list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very tasty dish and oh so cheap! Both hubby and I loved it. I added chopped black olives and 2 tblsp of Tomato Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb S

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was easy to make and very basic, a great way to incorporate this healthy fish into your diet. We used sardines in cayenne olive oil - next time I would use the tomato sauce ones. My bf loved it. I just can't get past the potent sardine smell. But I ate it - and the flavor was not bad. I added some garlic salt and lots of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was a good recipe to use some leftover pasta and a few scraps from the cupboard and fridge, and made a decent lunch for two. I added some leftover black olives and reconstituted sundried tomatoes, upped the garlic and threw in some carrot matchsticks for balance and appearance. I like the distinct taste of seafood that you get, but I think canned sardines are not substantial enough to provide the texture and spectrum of flavor that you expect from seafood pasta. My boyfriend said that it would be great without the "mystery meat" qualities of the sardines. This is a great base recipe, and I think I may try again and add some rinsed canned shrimp or some leftovers from a seafood dinner. Final verdict: this is a nice filling $2 meal (less if leftovers/scraps) but don't expect the world from it. A word of caution: canned sardines will stink up your house when heated (if you've ever been to a wharf in the summer, you know the smell). Prepare some scented candles/inscense if expecting company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I used 4 cloves garlic and sardines in olive oil (drained), and 4 TB tomato and basil pasta sauce. My husband (who is not a fish fan) absolutely loved it! I loved not only the taste, but it was very quick to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This recipe was my first attempt in preparing sardines… and even eating them. I used whole wheat rotini pasta, sardines in olive oil, and freshly ground pepper. I thought this dish was quite tasty and very easy to make. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJKreut
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States