Pasta de Sardine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Completely enjoyed this. Modifications: Add saunce on top of noodles instead of mixing. Used liquid pepper instead of flakes. Add teaspoon of oyster sauce and balsamic to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was very good. I used the sardines in tomato sauce but there really was hardly even a sauce so expect an olive oily type sauce. I had to add a bit of the pasta cooking water to sauce it a bit more. I also added some parsley from the garden. Reminds me of tuna puttanesca. Served with a caesar salad with homemade croutons and it was the perfect side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
good intro to sardines for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Made only minor modifications (extra 1/2 can of sardines in olive oil, more garlic, less cheese, whole wheat pasta, just a bit of tomato paste and 3/4 C pasta water) but loved it. We always have sardines around. I think this is going to be a staple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Made this dish with sardines in oil and added some diced tomatoes and a little tomato paste. All of us found it just too fishy in taste. While it was edible, the leftovers that usually get happily eaten for lunch the next day languished in the fridge and ended up thrown out. Don't foresee making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Tried a couple versions of this but could not get past the horrible fishiness of the sardines - and I really like sardines as a dip or spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I actually thought I invented this recipe))) I have it probably every couple weeks since there are usually lots of canned sardines in olive oil in my pantry))) No lemon,onion and garlic for me though but I add some lettuce/cabbage for crunch. Very versatile like any pasta dish - you can add any veggies you want and if you don't like tomato sauce just use plain sardines in olive oil. Also almost any cheese would do. With whole wheat pasta even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I'm one of those straight-out-of-the-tin sardine lovers, so this was a good dish to try. This recipe is a good base, but I prefer it to have more of a kick--I added several tablespoons of canned pasta sauce that included hot peppers. I think the quality of the dish depends on the brand of sardines used. Some brands may not actually have sardines, but herring and other types of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Very delicious dish. I give it 4 of 5 stars because i think it called for too much garlic & onion. it seemed to overpower the dish. I think using half the garlic & onion in this recipe would be just fine. I used the sardines in olive oil and added some sliced cherry tomatoes and 2 tablespoons of marinara sauce - it was delicious and unique - I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Not bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta con le Sarde

See how to make simple pasta with sardines and fennel.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States