Pasta Con Sarde (Pasta with Sardines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I guess I just don,t like canned sardines. Added a diced roma tomato and 2 tbsp of tomato powder. Added a sauce of 1 c. skim milk and 8 oz neufchatel cheese and made it palitable. Still, the flavor of canned sardines is fishy and no recipe I have ever found negates that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This dish was delicious! I sometimes purchase Portuguese sardines and put it on bread and eat it just like that, but only because I don't know what else to do with the sardines. So, I was excited when I saw this recipe. I didn't have fresh parsley on hand, so used the dried stuff. I also didn't have seasoned crumbs on hand, so used seasoned croutons instead. I thought the croutons would break down into crumbs during the cooking process, but they didn't. Next time, I will put the croutons in a blender before using. Even with my changes, it tasted great!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I had already chopped onion and garlic for a pasta sauce when I saw the can of sardines in my cupboard. I always buy Planet Earth sardines and (non-albacore) tuna. I have to be in the mood to eat sardines, though. I looked up the recipe "pasta and sardines" and found this one. Had Panko breadcrumbs on hand, but no parmesan cheese. So that was my change to the recipe. I thought it was very good, and made the sardines actually taste less sardiney. Four stars instead of five because, after all, they are sardines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made my own seasoned panko breadcrumbs and added more sardines. Need to use more oil as the sardines were water pack. A big hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I probably screwed this up but i thought I followed this recipe to the letter, and it was not a sauce at all. it was basically sardine flavored breadcrumbs over pasta. Tasted okay, but it was just really weird. Is that how its supposed to be? Seems to me WAY to much breadcrumbs and parmesan that soaks up all the olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Strowger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Love how quick, simple, and delicious this is! I only use 1/4 c bread crumbs to make it a bit healthier. All 4 kids eat this (2 year old LOVES it) and it's just such a simple way to get some DHA inexpensively. Husband doesn't like the thought of sardines, but is happy to eat this with red pepper flakes and sriracha. (We have used a variety of sardines and found it good whether they are in oil/water/hot sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Absolutely amazing. Used garlic in jar, added one tsp of capers, I just smashed up some crackers I had on hand, and I only used 1/2 cup olive oil total, but only lightly drained fish. Try it, I dare you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Many years ago I was in Sicily and was served this dish. I didn't know what it was but I loved it. Now I have found it in Allrecipes! They added chopped fennel leaves and pine nuts is what I remember. Anyway, I am so glad I now can make it! I reduced the bread crumbs by half, as well as the olive oil by even more. I also used brown rice fettucini which I much prefer over whole wheat pasta. I used Chicken of the Sea sardines. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Really good! I added a little bit of onion and held off on the pepper for my 4-year-old, but this is a really good dish. Be sure to use *seasoned* bread crumbs -- I almost switched to some panko I had in the cupboard but I can tell that would have been a mistake. A squeeze of lemon at the very end might not be bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Wow- I can't believe I just turned a plain old can of sardines into this blissful fishy extravaganza. I did eliminate the extra oil however and just sauteed the garlic in some oil from the can before adding the sardines. It's still plenty oily and flavorful and will save on a monster amount of fat and calories. Thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Tuscan Pasta

This delicious, easy pasta dish with zesty herbs is bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States