Pasta Basico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
A very familiar dish to me that's especially delicious this time of year when tomatoes are at their vine-ripened best. I'll often use butter as well as the olive oil, and some fresh basil, parsley and/or chives. Freshly grated Parmesan or Romano is a fine substitute for Asiago. A few crushed red pepper flakes is good too, although I prefer this without. The tomatoes are meant to be fresh and uncooked, briefly tossed with the pasta just before serving. The fresh thyme was new to me, however, and I wasn't so sure I'd like it. I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Oh my! This is fabulous and while the title implies "basic" or simple, I have to say it's simply delicious and a great side dish for grilled chicken. The flavors pair together nicely and I can see replacing the fresh thyme with fresh basil. I did add a bit of fresh basil as I had some on hand. I also added a little Parmesan with the Asiago. No matter what Italian cheese you have on hand you're sure to enjoy this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
So easy to make and so very tasty!! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
We liked this a lot. Great for a quick and easy meal. Followed another reviewer's suggestion to sub roasted red peppers for tomato and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was a simple side dish and so delicious! I used canned chopped tomatoes with Italian seasonings. Everyone in my house enjoyed this, I have made it about 3 times since finding the recipe 2 months ago. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucy
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I actually doubled this recipe. Dont forget that Asiago is a bit of a stronger cheese. So, I suggest adding to taste as not to overwhelm the serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Simple yet delicious! Used tomatoes and thyme from the garden and served over whole wheat spaghetti with fresh Parmesan. Fresh flavours, a great side dish to the Tuscan Chicken I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
5-star for ease and taste! Thank you for an easy recipe for a busy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Very easy to make and very, very tasty! Tastes nice and light too. We have made this many times since I first tried this recipe, especially when we're looking for something quick and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
We like to use whole wheat rotelli noodles and small cherry tomatos that we slice. We also slice up spinach and sautee onions and sweet peppers to put in it. I love to garnish with crumbles of goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States