Pasta Basico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Oh my! This is fabulous and while the title implies "basic" or simple, I have to say it's simply delicious and a great side dish for grilled chicken. The flavors pair together nicely and I can see replacing the fresh thyme with fresh basil. I did add a bit of fresh basil as I had some on hand. I also added a little Parmesan with the Asiago. No matter what Italian cheese you have on hand you're sure to enjoy this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
A very familiar dish to me that's especially delicious this time of year when tomatoes are at their vine-ripened best. I'll often use butter as well as the olive oil, and some fresh basil, parsley and/or chives. Freshly grated Parmesan or Romano is a fine substitute for Asiago. A few crushed red pepper flakes is good too, although I prefer this without. The tomatoes are meant to be fresh and uncooked, briefly tossed with the pasta just before serving. The fresh thyme was new to me, however, and I wasn't so sure I'd like it. I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Good simple side dish. For an even easier preparation, use the canned italian diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paynesville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rockford, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucy
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I actually doubled this recipe. Dont forget that Asiago is a bit of a stronger cheese. So, I suggest adding to taste as not to overwhelm the serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Very easy to make and very, very tasty! Tastes nice and light too. We have made this many times since I first tried this recipe, especially when we're looking for something quick and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
5-star for ease and taste! Thank you for an easy recipe for a busy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Simple yet delicious! Used tomatoes and thyme from the garden and served over whole wheat spaghetti with fresh Parmesan. Fresh flavours, a great side dish to the Tuscan Chicken I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was pretty bland we thought. I had to doctor it up a bit. I threw in sauteed mushrooms, garlic salt, and heavy cream because it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was excellent. I made a little extra sauce and used it for garlic bread, just a few slices baked in aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States