Passover Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Sank before it was even 1/2 way baked and stayed that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Perfect! Very fluffy and tasty! Making for a second time today but this time adding chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy H
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this cake. It turned out great. Very moist. Everyone loved it. I would suggest that you make it clear that "white sugar" means regular granulated sugar, not confectioners' sugar. I shared this recipe on Facebook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was my first attempt at Sponge Cake and it came out PERFECTLY! Had to add a little extra sugar to the egg whites so that they would stiffen.. but other than that.. Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Everyone said this didn't taste like a Passover dessert (meaning it wasn't sawdust). It was truly delicious. The cooking time was right on. The parchment at the bottom of the tube pan worked perfectly. I can't believe I didn't think of this before! I added a little orange extract to the orange juice. After the cake cooled, I cut it in half, pulled off the top half, carefully scooped out a moat into the bottom half, and filled it with lemon curd (easy to make, easier to buy). Then I fairly neatly replaced the scooped out mounds. Next I frosted the inside with a "7-minute icing," replaced the top half, iced all over, and coated it in sweeetened shredded coconut. I put toothpicks in it and covered it with plastic wrap (the toothpicks to prevent the wrap from messing up the frosting). I refrigerated the cake until the next day and pulled it out about an hour before dessert time. Easy to cut and serve. Looks marvelous in its coconut glory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Great recipe! I do suggest greasing the pan. The sponge cake stuck to everything (including the parchment paper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This came out ok. It tasted good, but did not look great. If you are not going to use parchment paper, make sure you lightly grease the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I used this recipe the last 2 years and I am back to make it again. It is perfect. Just like my grandmother used to make. I also cut it up to use in other recipes for layers and bottoms, such as cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
The cake came out extremely dry. I think that the baking time 1 hour and 10 minutes is way, way too long. 50 minutes THE MOST. Not only it came out dry, it also was burnt on outside, we didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This is this first sponge cake that I have made that has actually come out perfect!!! Great directions, easy to follow, easy to make. Wonderful taste. Best Sponge Cake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Iron Cupcake Challenge

Join us in Milwaukee with Allrecipes cook Sandy for the Iron Cupcake Challenge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States