Passover Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
These were fantastic...I did take others suggestions and used 1 Tablespoon of sugar to my mixture but followed the other directions exactly and they were great! I was a little worried about how wet the mixture was after i added the eggs but don't fear, they will come out perfect...Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
i rated them a 5 star because the recipe came out of a cookbook from Frances Av Rutick "The Complete Passover Cookbook" and it is a tablespoon of sugar and they are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
came out really good. I used to make this with my mom but these were more dense then those were. I will work with this one to make them taste more like those did but this is a very good start. They are tasty and not really oily like most recipes for passover rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Yum! Even the batter tasted good. They don't keep well for too many days, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
These are decent but pretty bland. I just looked up other Passover Roll recipes on line and they were about the same as this with one tablespoon of sugar instead of 1 teaspoon. I think that is probably more to my liking. This is definitely worth making, but I am definitely adding more sugar next time. I also only needed to cook it for 50 minutes and that was a little bit too much. I would set your timer for 45 minutes and watch closely. **OK I made them again today and added the sugar and it was great!!! I added a little more than a tablespoon and the rolls taste like funnel cakes. My only complaint is that I used extra large eggs this time and it was too much egg for me. It made the inside like a kruller doughnut. Although that sounds good, it was so airy it was like their was nothing there.**This is my last update I promise!! I froze both batches of rolls I made and defrosted them the day off. In the second batch with extra sugar and extra large eggs, the airy quality of the center was toned down a ton. It was perfect and moist. The first batch was slightly dry to me. Everyone raved over them. They were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
My recipe for these rolls is a little different. I use 1 cup of water and 1/2 cup of oil. The water and oil are brought to a boil together. I divided the mixture into 12 piles and then rolled the mixture into balls rather than dropping them on the cookie sheet. My bake time was 45 minutes. These rolls looked beautiful and were delicious! A wonderful addition to any Passover sedar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
Made these rolls last year. They were great !! Panicked this year when I couldn't find my recipe. Glad to see it is still on the site !! Happy eating to all !! Made them again for Passover 2005, this time I added raisins and topped with a little cinnamon. Was like a danish for breakfast !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Absolutely horrible. I will never try this again. It was missing something. Flavor. Extremely dry. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States