Passover (Pesach) Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My late mother handed down this recipe over 50 years ago-- and yes, it is the best! So good, that my non- Jewish friend uses it as her go to brownie recipe. One problem that I would like help with-- the top layer forms a crust and always crumbles-- almost separates from the moist insides-- not the prettiest brownie, while still delicious. Any ideas? Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Super easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!!! It was VERY EASY and everyone LOVED them!!!! They were SO MOIST and DELICIOUS!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Wonderful recipe. Similar but better than Passover Brownies in Second Helpings Please. For easy removal, I greased pan & lined it with parchment paper, which I also greased. At 30 minutes, toothpick doesn't come out clean but the top is set & brownies are perfectly moist. Note: Cake meal is ground finer then regular matzo meal. You can make matzo cake meal by using blender to grind matzo meal into a fine powder. Strain to sift out any lumps. Brownies freeze well. If freezing, don't ice until defrosted. Optional Icing: In microwave, melt in 20 second intervals, 6 ozs. semi-sweet chocolate squares or chips, 1½ tbsps. margarine & 1/8 + 1/16 tsp. water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Excellant. Make for Passover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This weekend I'll use this recipe as a 'base' for brownies that I want to make...I'll substitute the veg oil for blue band light olive oil baking product and put in pecans instead of walnuts end crush some eastern egs (chocolate) that I still have and put them in... Oh and I'll use wholeweat flour and yeast since I don't know what matzoh is and i want the brownies nice and fluffy...This was the first recipe I found that didn't require butter but oil and that's what I wanted. (I also tried to look op vegan brownies, but nothing there) I understand it's a Jewish recipe, hope you don't mind I'll tinker with it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was great! A hundred times better than the boxed mix. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Very good and fudgy. Took the advice and underbaked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
The best Passover brownies I have ever made. If you don't have cake meal you can use regular matza meal - the consistency will be a bit less smooth, but they will be great nonetheless - and won't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Very sweet. It also needs more than 30 minutes to bake otherwise it will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States