Passover Matzo Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Love this recipe. The result was a cheesy, vegetarian dish which everyone enjoyed. I did not have 4 eggs in the house so I used 3/4 cup of egg replacement. Also had only a 16 oz. carton of cottage cheese into which I mixed the leftover ricotta cheese (about 1/2 cup or 4 oz), I had on hand. I also used 7 Matzo sheets instead of 6 to make sure I covered all the layers. I wish I had taken a picture because it looked so good when it came out of the oven. Tasted even better after sitting for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this recipe for my chavurah (friends group). I hadn't tried it before, and was wary of how much cottage cheese vs shredded mozzarella. It was fantastic, and everyone loved it!! I need to use 1 1/2 pieced of matzah each level to fit a large casserole dish; this worked perfectly. Also need more marinara sauce, about 1/2 more jar. I will use this recipe forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was a very good Passover lasagna with some minor modifications:) I browned and seasoned a 1 lb. of turkey meat and added that to two jars of sauce. I also seasoned the cheese mixture with basil, oregano, salt, and pepper. It came out more beautiful than a traditional lasagna. I will definitely be making this for future. Thank you for providing a base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Perfect for vegetarians at Seder! Not very traditional, but it was excellent. I scaled down the recipe and served it last Passover and everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This turned out great! I loved the cottage cheese and mozzarella combo and was thrilled (and a bit surprised) by how tender the matzo got. As a little bonus, I sauteed some spinach and garlic and added it on top of the cheese layers just to add a little vegetable. It was a hit, not only with my vegetarian seder guest, but with the whole crowd. I will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Terrific! My girlfriend was confounded and asked me if it was actual lasagna and I was slipping her chametz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Has a mild flavor, needs punching up with basil, oregano & garlic to taste. I thought was okay, hubby disliked it. Did look like the real thing after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
your directions are not very specific????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States