Passover Chocolate Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Best passover dessert ever! Tasted like the "flour less chocolate tortes" you would have in a nice restaurant. I used Bob's red Mill almond flour. I beat the egg whites by hand which was a huge holiday stress reliever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I would give this 3 1/2 stars if I could, but went with 4. It was quite tasty. I baked 45 minutes and it should have been more because it was runny in the middle, but it still tasted good. I ground slivered almonds in my coffee grinder, which worked pretty well, but I think I would try to buy almond flour next time for a smoother texture. I also added peppermint flavoring to taste, which was delicious. Oh, and I used butter instead of margarine, but I doubt it made much of a difference in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is an amazing easy recipe not only for Passover but all year. Guests loved it and liked it to the last crumb Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Just tried this for the first time. (My first torte even). They came out perfectly. I substituted regular butter for the margarine. Delicious. Will use every Passover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Although the crumblies that came off the top taste good, it fell apart after trying to get it out of the pan. Once i finally did get it out it was so moist that i could actually take a knife and spread the cake over the cracks to fix it. Hoping to get the pretty top it origionally had (which is now on the bottom after flipping it out) I stuck it on a cookie sheet and put it in the oven for 20 more minutes. It seems to have sortof worked. I'm bringing it to my family tomorrow, hope it tastes as good as people say it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Yummy! I made this for Passover, and it was a huge hit! I had some almond flour (which is just ground almonds), so it made it SO very easy to make! I topped with Vanilla Glaze (this site), and it was perfect! Thank you VERY much for the great recipe...easy to make, and so delightful to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
First time making passover desert and my guests loved it. It was chocolaty, moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I followed the directions exactly. As others suggested, I topped with confectioner's sugar and raspberries then refrigerated for a few hours before serving. Really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Dektor Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My family loved this. It was yummy, but the almond disturbed the texture more than I would have liked. I'll try again using my coffee grinder instead of my food processor, and see if I can make the almond more powdery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is a fantastic passover recipe - and a darn good recipe for year round use. I made it yesterday for the first time and have another one in the oven right now! Follow the directions exactly as written - nothing needs to be changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States