Passover Chocolate Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I should preface this by saying I am NOT an experience baker, so my problems with this recipe could very well be due to my own lack of skill. I thought the torte was fine, but not anything special. I could have made brownies from a box and they would have been a lot easier and possibly tastier. I threw away the leftovers after the party. Here is what I had problems with: The torte ended up being pretty flat and fell apart when I released it from the pan(Not enough grease on the foil? Didn't let cool for full 10 minutes? Why the tin foil anyway?) It took a lot longer to bake than stated to get the center to be "set" and not gooey (maybe too long? Edges seemed a bit crispy, but the center was just no longer gooey when I took it out) The ground almonds did not grind very fine in my chopper, so it looked like it had bits of cous cous in it (I do not own a coffee grinder) I tried to follow the recipe pretty closely, except I did use real butter instead of pareve margarine (yes, I know it defeats the purpose of it being a "passover" torte). Also, I don't know if it matters, but I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of squares. The torte just didn't have the density and rich taste I was expecting. I will probaby not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This is a truly delicious cake, Passover or not! I am as intense a chocoholic as they come and this cake has now become my favorite, bar none. I made it last night and I got scared towards the end of the baking time because the top looked dried out, so I took it out about 7 minutes shy of what the recipe called for. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. It turns out I should have trusted the recipe, because the center was more than gooey, it was undercooked. However... that is not the end of the story. My husband and I both had a piece while it was still warm, we couldn't resist after smelling it baking! As described above, the center was hot and very gooey, too gooey, actually, but towards the outer edge it became incredible... dense and moist and chocolatey.... perfect, in fact. I put it in the refrigerator overnight and today it is FABULOUS... even the undercooked inside is now more like the inside of a truffle, and then it gets cakier towards the outside. I am baking another one tonight and will follow the recommended baking time religiously... otherwise, I won't change a thing. I used my coffee grinder to grind the sliced almonds my husband brought home from the store, so, if you're wondering how to grind your almonds, that worked perfectly for me. Turned the almonds into a fine-textured meal, almost like flour. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a rich, decadent and VERY chocolatey dessert. It will not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Oh YUM... but NOT for those who don't like chocolate! Dense, dark chocolate flavor and the ground almonds add a nice texture. I think I may have overbeat the egg whites a little, and/or overbaked a little, but it was still delicious! Chilled it for a few hours, then "frosted" with Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site, and served with halved fresh strawberries. A huge hit... will make again, and not just for Passover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was just fantastic, much better than any other dessert at our passover party! It didn't last 5 minutes before it had totally disappeared. I didn't frost it, and it was so rich and chocolatey on its own, I was glad that I left it "natural." Thank you Leah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
If I could put 10 stars it would still be too little. Leah, what an amazing receipe! So easy to make and so divinly mouthwatering to taste. You were right! There was not a piece left (shame for me running around seder and not getting any!) Thank you ... Chag Samaech
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
fast, easy, delicious! we topped with confectioner's sugar and raspberries. tasted even better after chilling in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Dense, chocolatey, moist and perfectly sweetened. Torte was easy to make and will definitely become part of my Pesach repertoire. Thanks Leah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I made this cake for one of the Sedars. I was worried about making a cake without flour but i had no choice there dessert, my family forgot to get one. It was a hit. My mother who is a very critical cook loved it and that she would rather eat this than any store bought cake. The Glaze that was suggested in an earlier review was fabulous. I have to admit though that when the cake was done in the oven, it looked odd. However since it was flipped over it didn't matter. It was great. This will definitaly be a dessert used on occassions other than Passover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
A huge hit! My family all raved - (over 10 people) they could not believe it was a kosher for passover cake! Excellent and very easy to make! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
A perfect dessert! Light and chocolatey, and the almonds created a nice texture and flavor. Sprinkle confectioner's sugar on top and slice a few strawberries on top. I will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States