Passover Chocolate Mandelbrot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I get asked if this is really Kosher for Passover. Enough Said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This recipe was yummy! It was like a cross between a toasted quickbread and biscotti. I made one batch with chocolate chips and walnuts and another dried cherries and almond slices. All my Jewish friends loved it and couldn't believe it was kosher for Passover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I usually hate mandelbread but this one is delicious! it's chocolaty and has a great texture- crunchy but not dry. Everyone loved them! I baked them for about 30 minutes, then sliced them, sprinkled more sugar and cinnamon on the sides and baked on each side for about 10 minutes each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I prepared these for the first time and they are all gone! I got a really high yield of cookies out of this, prob about 4 doz biscuits. I formed 3 loaves, baked them on parchment paper lined pan, and only baked them for about 35 minutes. I cooled them for 20 min, sliced them, sprinkled them again with cinn sugar, and hit them again at 250 for another 30 min. Superb! They were crunchy without being totally dried out. Next time I will add cranberries and nuts (I left the nuts out this time as I did not have any on hand) to the choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
The best ever Passover recipe I have tried! I also cut the loaves into biscuits and browned them a bit on their sides to dry out. Otherwise, you can't mess with perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Outstanding! This is a keeper! I made two batches - the first I made 2 logs - the second time around, I made 3 logs. I prefer the smaller mandelbrot. This is a great year round recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe turned out very good even though I made a few mistakes with the help of my little kids. I didn't have Matzo cake meal so I used regular Matzo meal. I also accidentaly bought mini chocolate chips. My kids turned the stove to broil about halfway through the normal cooking time. I noticed the smell of smoke and never guessed that this had happened. I ended up taking it out of the oven at this point and cutting off as much burned part as I could. Even still the Mandelbrot was amazing. My guest asked to take some home. They showed me the next day that their children had only left crumbs. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
"Best Mandelbrot I've ever had!" - a comment made by my calorie-conscious mother-in-law - with a compliment like that, how can anyone doubt this recipe?! Seriously though - this recipe is a keeper - easy, tasty and makes enough to serve to a crowd. Definitely make 3 loaves, bake it twice (10 minutes each side once sliced) and sprinkle with the cinnamon sugar. The more crunchy the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This was delicious. I will definately make this again. It was messy when it came time to form into loaves. I needed to do this right on the baking pan because it was too sticky to transfer. I cooked it the whole 55 minutes and it was fine. Probably cooking it a little less would have been better, however no one complained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This is fabulous as it is, but I buy three disposable aluminum pans, approximately 5 x 12 by 1 inch high. It makes three perfectly uniform loaves in 1/2 hour. I then slice them and return them to the oven at 250 for 1/2 hour as someone else had suggested. Couldn't be more perfect! They are gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States