Passover Chocolate Chip Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
These did not turn out well at all. So disappointing! They were crunchy, crispy, flat, and way too sugary/gritty. Despite the seemingly-easy recipe, I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious recipe! I followed the recipe exactly as it is stated and the meringues were perfect! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Adapted ~~ were excellent & easy!! Use less salt ( 1/4 t ), 1 piece of matzo (crumbled) & 1/2 C chopped pecans. After beating egg whites, gradually add sugar n salt, beat till stiff. Fold in rest of ingred. Drop on lined cookie sheets. Bake @ 350 for 10 minutes, turn off oven and leave over night. Pretty n perfect. Enjoy !! Lisa NOLA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
We loved these. I've never made meringues before so I wasn't sure what to expect. These were like sugary goodness with pops of chocolate, that kind of melted in your mouth. Whats not to like in that? After reading the reviews I was concerned with the baking process so I changed it a bit. I baked them for 25 minutes at 300 they came out lightly brown and crisp. I got about 24 meringues out of this recipe. Thanks for the recipe I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
These we very good and very easy to make. I also used butterscotch chips just for a little variety. After reading the other reviews, I baked these cookies for 15 minutes and THEN turned off the over and left them in overnight. They came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
After looking at the reviews, I made a few adjustments. I used a pinch of salt (about 1/8 t), 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 bag of the mini semi-sweet morsels. I cooked them in my over at 300 for about 20 minutes and then turned the oven off and left them there for about an hour. I also realized that when you make them in the summer they are mushier than if you make them in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
The eggs and sugar whipped up beautifully. I was nervous to add liquid so I used vanilla sugar instead of the vanilla. I also used less chocolate chips - maybe 3/4 cup. But the problem with it was that they did not harden properly. I left them in the oven overnight and they were still soft in the morning. So I turned the oven on to 200 and left it in there for an hour. Then I lowered the temp in the oven to 185 and left them in for another 45 minutes. At that point, the texture was right - they had hardened into that melt-in-your-mouth consistency that they are supposed to have. I was hoping that the leaving it in the oven thing would work because it makes for a very simple recipe - leaving it overnight, oven off, what could be easier and safer? But unfortunately this did not work. I will just have to keep looking for a way to bake meringues. At least I was able to salvage them by baking them longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I love meringue - it has always been challenging for me, but this recipe was fool-proof for me. I have made them for 3 years now and each time I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was very good and a great veriation on just regular cookies. They were very sweet and I used half the sugar I will use less sugar than that. I also just put a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I made these and followed the recipe exactly. I left them in the oven overnight but they were so chewy you could not eat them. I removed them from the oven, turned the oven back on and repeated the process again for 2 hours. This did the trick and they were nice and crisp. Way too salty though. Next time I will either leave the salt out or use only a dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States