Passover Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Great recipe. I've made this for two years in a row and it will be gracing the sedar again this year by popular demand. I agree with doubling the batter or cutting the amount of apples in half. Either way, it's a great dessert with a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This is SOOO delicious. I agree with a previous reviewer that you should either double the batter or cut down on the apples...I split the batter and started spreading half of it in the bottom of a 9 by 13 pan (as called for) but immediately saw it wasnt near enough batter. so i switched to a 7 by 11 pan, put half batter on bottom, covered with only 3/4 of the apple mixture and topped with half of the batter. So, either double batter of cut down on the apples. i dont understand the negative reviews...trust me, this cake DOESNT TASTE PASSOVER and got rave reviews by my family. if you try ANYTHING, TRY THIS--trust me!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
My family and I thought this was very tasty, especially considering the boxed alternatives for Passover. I added 1/2 cup of walnuts to the apple mixture - added a nice texture. Next time I will probably double the recipe to be able to cover the apples entirely. I find the batter very hard to work with, but once it's baked, it tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montreal mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
Absolutely wonderful. My boss wanted to know how I got the recipe for his grandmother's apple cake. I do have a suggestion. I read all the reviews bad and good. The only thing I did different was to double the batter when I saw how many apple slices there were once they were cut. There was plenty of batter for the bottom and the top. Kudos to the chef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Great apple cobbler...A day after baking it, I rewarmed it and served it hot! Most delicious side dish to roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Tasty but it is definetly more of a cobbler than a cake - if you are expecting a cake. Was wonderful with ice cream or cool whip! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
More like an apple cobbler, but HEAVY. Not eaten, in spite of lovely aroma and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Passover baking always seems to leave little to be desired, BUT this "cake" was great and the family decided it was definitely a "keeper". This is more like an Apple Crisp. I added extra cinnamon since we all love it, and served it with vanilla ice cream. Raves from all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I was extremely disappointed in this cake. First, I would have used Matzoh Cake Meal, not the coarser Matzoh Meal. Secondly, there was not enough batter to even spread on the bottom of a 9/13" pan, much less make two dough layers. I ended up with the apples on top, without any dough covering them. The "cake" portion was soggy, and I ended up throwing the whole thing out. It was a complete waste time of ingredients and time. Marlene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I thought the name was misleading....I was expecting a "cake" this is much more like an apple crisp...OK but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States