Passover Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
i read all the reviews and agree that the batter needs to be doubled. i made it 3 times in a week, once to try it, second for passover, and third for easter sunday! first go was ok, too much nutmeg tho. i cut that to about less than a 1/2 a teaspoon. the second & third time i doubled the batter, cut back on the nutmeg, and added more brown sugar to the middle with the apples (which i only used about 4-5 apples), and on top, BETTER!! everyone raved about it at both dinners! i will definitely make this again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrittalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Definitely add 1 -2 tsp. vanilla, if not more!!!! We cut the amount of apples in half, but I think we will only cut it by 1/3 next time. Also added cardamom in the dough. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
A big hit with the whole family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Excellent Passover dessert. Very moist, which is a nice departure from your typical dry Passover cake. More like a cobbler in texture. I used 1 cup of cake meal instead of the 1.5 cups matzo meal. I also added 1/2 tsp almond extract to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Warshauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was the best passover dessert we ever had. The first time I can say we finished it all. Definately put the brown sugar on top. Really adds something to a very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
If you look at the picture, it appears to be a spring-form pan even though the recipe calls for 9x13 dish. I used a spring-form pan and it turned out looking absolutely amazing. I doubled the dough, but didn't use quite all of it, but most. I did sprinkle a mixture of sugar and and brown sugar on top for decoration after baking. Can't wait to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Made it yesterday, in a 9" circular pan, about 4 apples. Just added vanilla to the batter and lemon juice to the apples. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Although this is pretty good, i had a terrible time getting it out of the pan! The top half with most of the apples came out and the bottom half stuck despite the greasing i did before hand. I ended up redoing it in teflon cupcake molds so i could just flip them out. That didn't quite work either so i took a spoon and scooped them into parfait glasses and tea cups. It's cute but looks obviously messed up. I plan on bringing them to passover, sticking them in the microwave for a minute and serving with ice cream and caramel to hide the messiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
For a Passover cake, it really is great! My non-Jewish family and friends all enjoyed it, but the biggest tesitmonial is my own - a self professed "Passover Cake Hater"!!! This is more than edibile, its really good! Skip the nasty mix and make this instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States