Paska Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Half the recipe makes 2 large loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Made two regular loaves of bread, cinnamon rolls and one HUGE loaf in a crock bowl. All are light and fluffy and very tasty. The bread loaves will make excellent sandwich bread - finally something the kids love even after it's no longer warm out of the oven! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Edwards

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
WOW!! Very good recipe! I'll use this frequently. I used 1/4 c. less sugar, 2 c. ff 1/2 & 1/2 and 1 c. ff milk, 3 cups WWW flour and butter instead of margarine. I upped the salt to 3/4 tsp because I used unsalted butter, no lemon zest and no egg wash, but I did rub with butter when it came out of the oven. This recipe made 1 large loaf of bread, 8 hot dog buns, 6 large burger buns and a 9 x 13 pan of cinnamon rolls. Its very tender, slightly sweet. Get out your BIG bowls, it's ALOT of dough. Handles nicely. Beautiful! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Okay, so.....here's the thing. I made the bread dough according to the recipe, only cutting it in half. I actually used the dough for cinnamon swirl bread. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer for the prep, proofing the yeast with the sugar and warm milk/water in the mixer bowl for ten minutes. When the yeast "bloomed", I added the butter and salt and part of the flour, then the eggs, and the remainder of the flour. I only needed a little over six cups of flour all together. Once the bread dough formed into a ball, I kneaded it with my bread hook for about five minutes, adding just a little extra flour to keep the dough from sticking to the bottom. I did the first raise in a greased bowl on my warm oven for a couple hours, divided the massive dough ball, then rolled out both pieces into a long strip with my pin and spread melted butter and a cinnamon sugar mixture over the rolled out dough and rolled it up and sealed them to prevent the loaves from seperating. (Each portion I used only a couple tbsp. of melted butter and 1/4 c. granulated sugar mixed with cinnamon.) I greased my loaf pans with just a little butter and set the loaves in the pans to double again. 350* for a half hour, these loaves were cinnamon-swirl perfection. This was quite a large bread recipe, even cut in half. It really gave my 30+ year old Kitchen Aid mixer a time of it. But the outcome.....excellent. Bakery-quality bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
The Paska was good but not great. I am Ukrainian and Paska is a must for the Easter. So I tried this recipe and some other recipes. I think 12 cups of flour is way too much. SO my Paska came out little heavy, and not sweet enough. For the top we make a "frosting" from egg white and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I made this on Sunday for Easter and it came out wonderful and so Yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This was very good bread, it makes a large batch and the dough is very easy to work with. If making in the KA, the batch could be halved and the KA could handle the dough size. Will make again and thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is very good Paska. It is not however, for someone who does not like getting their hands dirty. It is best made in a large crock, using a wooden spoon and hands for mixing. It makes a lot of dough but it handles well and the finished product is worth the time. This is the first year I have used a different recipe for my easter bread. I have used my polish grandmothers recipe for 40 years. This one is just as good and it makes more bread than hers does. I made it as written, just dropped the lemon zest because lemons were not something found in most polish households in 1914 when my she came here. Otherwise it is pretty much her recipe only on a grander scale. I made 3 medium size loaves of bread, a tray of rolls for dinner, and three pie plates of cinnamon rolls out of the dough. I have three married children all of whom stopped by this evening to gather their goodies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I have another paska recipe that has more eggs and sugar so thought I'd try this one and it's good. I left off the egg and butter on top and I only used 12 cups flour total, not 4 plus 12 as the dough was a good consistency then but otherwise followed it exactly and it's a nice, slightly sweet bread. My other recipe is fluffier and sweeter but I will make this one again as it's healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Made this yesterday. I tried to use the wooden spoon the whole time. Extremely difficult to mix together. I didn't use all the flour and only one loaf I put in a bowl to bake. I think I would use bowls or something all the time. Putting it on baking sheets was too much dough spread all over the sheets. It was alot of work and it came out moist, but I feel it was missing something. I did add some golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States