Party-Size Greek Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This one absolutely ROCKS, I take it everywhere, have passed the recipe out at least 5 times by request. It's also great if you have a vegetarian living with you...make one batch of this and it's lunch for a week. My mom commented that it's just like one of the salads sold at Whole Foods, only this doesn't cost $8/lb. I use Roma tomatoes rather than cherry tomatoes because they maintain their shape a bit better...and a word on couscous...make sure you check the outside of the box about how much one box makes. If you use Far East brand, you have to use 2 boxes instead of one. Two chopped red bell peppers seem to go over better than mixed ones. I also put in a larger container of feta. If your grocery store doesn't have greek salad dressing in a bottle, mix together 1/3c each of olive oil and balsamic vinegar and that works, too. When not making this for a party, I serve this as the side dish sometimes with "Cousin Cosmo's Greek Chicken," also on this site. We call it Greek Night, and my 3 kids LOVE Greek Night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi McDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I scaled this down to 7 servings (of which 2 people ate nearly all!). *blush* I didn't have any boxed couscous mixes on hand, but did have plain whole wheat couscous; so I sauteed it in butter, then simmered it in chicken broth, a splash of chardonnay, along with Italian seasoning, garlic & onion powders & some salt. Used grape tomatoes & Girard's Greek Feta Vinaigrette (yum!) and this was a hit! DH asked me to make it again. Thanks, Gourmet631!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Very good salad with beautiful visual presentation. I also used Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing as others recommended with very good results. I used garlic-herb feta and tossed in extra veggies. The great thing about this recipe is it can be customized so easily. Add left over chicken and you have a meal. Thanks Gourmet631.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was a hit at my recent "Greek" dinner party. The few things I changed: 1 green pepper and less cucumber (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I made this receipe with whole wheat couscous--Trader Joe's--and it was wonderful!! Healthy, more fiber than a pasta salad or even a rice salad. Great with the feta. Have made this with my own and with Paul Newman's Greek Dressing--both work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I cut this back using ONE box of couscous mix. Because I could not find garlic and herb couscous mix, I added in some homemade greek seasoning and fresh minced garlic. I cut everything else back except the cucumbers and tomatoes. This is divine! I can't stop eating it. This is one of the best things I've eaten in a long time. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Great for picnics or large gatherings. Made (for 50) the night before, left in fridge overnight and added salad dressing before serving. Brought this to my boyfriend's church picnic and two ppl asked for the recipe. :) Only changes would be to use English cukes (no seeds) and add more cherry tomatoes. I thought the feta was a little low but the bf loved the balance of grain, veggie and cheese. Will certainly make again. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I tried this out before making for our upcoming block party. I thought it was good, but nobody in my family cared for it - and most of them love couscous! Maybe it was the flavoring in the couscous...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
sooo good! however, added a zucchini & removed the seeds from the cucumber! used the 'absol. fab. greek/house dressing' on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
well done! this recipe is fab i am going to make it for my mum and dad! i giv it 5 stars the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States