Party Punch IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I made this for my friend's bridal shower and everyone kept asking, "Who made this punch?!" They all loved it! I used two packages of raspberry Jell-O and one package of strawberry Jell-O and cut the sugar back to about 2 cups -- and it was still plenty sweet. I divided the mixture (minus the ginger ale) into three gallon ziplock freezer bags and froze them. They were mostly hard, but not totally frozen about 15 hours after I put them in the freezer, and when I mixed it with the ginger ale (I used 1 bottle of ginger ale per bag of Jell-O mixture), it came out nice and slushy! The bride loved it so much she asked for the recipe and is using it for her wedding reception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was excellent, sweet and a great offering. All of my guests liked it. It was quite hard from the freezer and the ginger ale did not melt it. Should be taken out of the freezer several hours before serving to "chop up" or defrost in microwave for a while before adding ginger ale. Once somewhat thawed, it made a slushy punch which had a different and great consistency than watery punch. (Maybe because of the jello?!) A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Excellent!@ LIttle nervous about serving this at my mother in law's birthday party for 40, but it was a huge hit! Ran out of Ginger Ale, so we started substituting Hanson's Mandarin Lime soda, and it was still delicious! Used cranberry/raspberry jello and slightly reduced the sugar - froze in 13 x 8 pans so it would freeze faster and be easier to break up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
YUM! I made this for my wedding reception and it was GONE! I used Cranberry gelatin and halved the sugar as others had suggested which made it just right! Noting the thaw problem, I made the mix on Thursday night, let it freeze on Friday, and took it out Saturday morning around 9am for a 2pm party. It had a perfect slushy chill, and broke up with just the pour of the ginger ale and a couple stirs with the ladel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I made this for 400 servings and it was a big hit. I made it for 100 at a time and each time I made it using a different jello flavor. I do think I will cut back on the sugar next time as it is almost too sweet with the jello, sugar and ginger ale all sweet. I put it in quart sized zip lock bags and froze them until the event and then just cut the bags and poured the ginger ale over them. When one flavor was gone we went to another. We stored them in a cooler so they started getting softer and easy to break up in the punch bowl. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Excellent punch! I used pineapple gelatin. A few notes: This makes 40 *servings* not ounces (I misunderstood and made *way* too much punch!); the juice mixture refrigerates just fine if you don't want to/can't freeze the whole thing; and this is very sweet - now that we are drinking leftovers I think you could safely use sugar-free gelatin and/or halve the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I can't believe more people haven't tried this recipe.... it really is the BEST. It makes kind of that neat "chewy" slushy consistency. It's more trouble than some other punch recipes, but that's primarily because of the volume of liquid you're working with (to mix as well as to freeze.) But I've served it three times now and guests always rave. Freezing tip: use casserole/baking pans lined with foil so you can lift out the frozen slabs easily to chop them into your punch bowl. Or, ice cube trays or muffin pans (unlined) eliminate the need to chop in the first place. (But boy, you'd need a lot of them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I read the reviews and altered the recipe by only cutting back on the sugar by half. This was a wonderful punch. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
My mother has had this recipe for years. It is truly wonderful. You just have to prepare it in advance because it has to freeze. People can't stop drinking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Great punch recipe. I usually always have some stored in my freezer just in case I need it! Freeze it in large ziplock bags that have the pleated bottom and the zipper at the top. I have never had a problem with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Luscious Slush Punch

See how to make a refreshing alcohol-free punch.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Cranberry Punch

See how to make a bright, tangy refresher for summer or the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States