Party Plentiful Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I LOVE this stuff! And the truth be told, I didn't expect to. I had an avocado and cottage cheese that looked as though they'd get tossed if I didn't use them soon, so I approached this as an experiment, thinking I had nothing to lose if I found I didn't care for it. Since I made only a small amount it wasn't practical for me to open a can of green chiles, so I substituted fresh minced jalapeno pepper instead. The garlic salt, salt and pepper, and lemon juice I added to taste, always a good idea. I was absolutely floored at how delicious this was! One could be tempted to add ingredients like cilantro, parsley, fresh garlic or cumin and while they would all probably be nice additions they are by no means necessary - and frankly, any changes might just spoil this lovely recipe. It's creamy, smooth, not too spicy, with a hint of avocado flavor and just the slightest tang from the cream cheese and cottage cheese. Since I knew it was also good for me, I ate it by the spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Cat Hill
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I wasn't sure I'd like this recipe but since I like all the ingredients I figured it'd be all right. I'm glad I made it! I really like this dip! I did make some changes-I halved the recipe and didn't use as much garlic salt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Totally loved this recipe. Followed the recipe exactly. After tasting the finished product I decided it needed more salsa (I got hot salsa like the first reviewer suggested), so I added an additional 1/4 cup. I even think it could use more but I realize that it will taste even better after the flavors have melded overnight so I'm not going to tinker with it anymore. BTW, when they say "plentiful" in the name of this recipe, they mean it. It makes a huge bowl. I love it and can't wait to taste it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I am a huge fan of cottage cheese and salsa... yet have never combined the two. I loved this recipe! If you like spice you must use very spicy salsa (Trader Joe's chipotle salsa is my fave for spicy) because the avocado and cottage cheese cut the spice quite a bit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Makes a TON of guac! I used only one container of cottage cheese, and that seemed like just enough. It was very tasty and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This makes a lot!!!!! It is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Guacamole guacamole (seeing if this will help this recipe to show up on search)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Very good. I love the different take on guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I'll stick with my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
is great for a base, loved it after I threw in my 2 cents, thanks =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States