Party Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I've been using this exact recipe for over 7 years. We've never found it too salty and I've never changed or added anything to the recipe. The longer you leave the rolls in the fridge before serving the better they taste. They are delicious and people go nuts at our parties for these, so I always include em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I would have been able to fill more had I used less filling. I was able to fill 8 soft shell taco tortilla with 1/3 cup of filling, but felt the filling was too much and could have used 1/4 cup of filling per tortilla. Instead of the store bought ranch packet, I made my own w/ spices I had in the cabinet: 1/4 cup dried parsley leaf, 1 Tbs. dill leaf, 1 Tbs. garlic powder, 1 Tbs. onion powder, 1/2 tsp basil (optional), 1/2 tsp black pepper and whipped it with the cream cheese until blended well. I minced the olives, 2 carrots, small jar of pimentos, 2 celery stalks, 2 stalks green onion and stirred it with the cheese and cream cheese. I layered each tortilla with a slice of ham, and used the freezer method (freeze for about 40 min, then slice). Just "eh". Easy appetizer but probably wouldn't do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
These were a huge hit at our family gathering!! Fun to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McCoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
LOVE these! Made similar before, but i find you need at least 6 tortillas not the 4 listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gull Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Tried this for a party last weekend. People already requested the recipe & I was asked to bring it the party this weekend. I did heat the tortilla for 20 seconds before putting them together, it made it easier to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
could use less cream cheese for my taste but were a hit at a recent party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made pinwheel sandwiches for the first time for a bridal shower in January using this recipe. I made the recipe as is and did not find them too salty as other reviewers had mentioned. (I did add an extra 1/4 of a brick of cream cheese that I wanted to use up though.) I used the red and green tortilla wraps for a pretty colorful presentation. They were very tasty, easy to make, and gone in a flash! LOL! I have also made them for school lunches and my daughter liked them...until she realized there were black olives in them! Next time no black olives is her only request! LOL! This mixture paired well with ham slices put in the wrap for a change too! I am sure chicken or turkey coldcuts would work too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is good carry out food or for carry dish. I did it just like the resicpe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Maybe one packet can be too salty, but if you add in enough other ingredients it really mellows it out. I added all the ingredients directly into the blender to create one cohesive, spreadable "dip" (it is, by the way, fantastic as a dip, too). By blending it so smoothly it covered more than only four tortillas. I added a whole can of drained corn, a whole can of rinsed/drained black beans, and a teaspoon or more of cumin to warm up the flavor (not enough to make it spicy, though). These things disappeared and I was asked multiple times for the recipe. Really, though, stir in whatever you like, and don't be afraid to blend it on medium speed. It really distributed all the flavors well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
So good!! I only used 1/2 to 3/4 of the ranch mix like others suggested. This recipe will be one I make from now on for get togethers. Did use orange bell pepper instead of red and chopped black olives. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States