Party Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Good recipe with good flavor. None leftover after the party, and got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I've used Kielbasa as well as meatballs (yep, the frozen ones, too)and if I use ketchup the amount of grape jelly is reduced by 1/4 to 1/2 cup. It's really sweet if using the full amount. We like it with several healthy dashes of Texas Pete or Frank's Hot Sauce. Have also made it using barbeque sauce and Riffyraff's suggestion of chili sauce. It's a super simple recipe but quite versatile. Haven't found anyone that didn't like it no matter how it was made! It's typically served for Super Bowl Sunday and New Year's Eve get-togethers at my house. Deeeelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Have a version of my own....grape jelly and taco seasoning. Cook it in a pot and keep it heated in the crockpot. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Campcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I hate to change a recipe but for me this was a bit sweet. I added BBQ sauce in equal ratio to ketchup & grape jelly which added the bit of spice I was looking for, the same as others have posted. I suggest trying as shown but feel free to add the BBQ sauce if you want a little kick. I also put the slices on the grill for a bit of char which added extra flavor and was very eye appealing. Put slices on grill just enough to make marks and then flip. I closed the lid to warm through. I used a gas grill on medium low. While grilling, I cooked the sauce until bubbly then put in the slow cooker and added the kielbasa on high for 30-45 minutes or until bubbly, then turned to low serve. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Holy awesomeness! This is fantastic! I made this on the stove top with two different kinds of kielbasa. After the ketchup and jelly melted into a sauce resembling a glaze, I added the kielbasa and let it simmer a while. Made no other changes at all. The only suggestion I have is to cut the kielbasa creatively so they work well on toothpicks. I guess you could add a little cornstarch for a thicker gaze but it really isn't necessary. Make sure your kielbasa is one of the name brand, good quality sausages and everyone will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Four stars as written, but I like to doctor the recipe when I make these. As Riffyraff stated in her/his review, it's better with Heinz Chili Sauce instead of ketchup. I also follow Lisa Morr's review and add Worcestershire sauce. In addition, I like to keep the garlic powder near the crockpot as the sauce is cooking and add some to taste once the flavors have had a chance to meld. But often I'll use Ukrainian garlic sausage instead of kielbasa, so no extra garlic needed. Don't be scared off by the hillbilly ingredients. This is truly a delicious appetizer and a staple at our annual Superbowl party. We have regular guests who would ask where there were if one year we tried to change things up and not serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Good but I prefer to use chili sauce instead of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is good, as are all the variations: I like to switch jellied cranberry sauce for the grape jelly for a less sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I've made this for about 3 decades using 2 links of kielbsa (turkey kielbsa too) and 1 jar red current jelly & 1 bottle of chili sauce. But it is a base recipe to add or change to your liking. Try abit leaner style using boneless chicken chunks, apricot jam & chili sauce w/a tsp. or so of your favorite mustard (my favorite is Chipoltle Mustard! Around the holidays red current jelly with cranberry mustard from the stonewall kitchen - quite yummy & just the sauce over your leftover turkey over rice is really quite nice & good way to change up your plain old turkey leftovers - TRY IT, YOU JUST MAY LIKE IT! Really though you can play around with all types of sauces, mustards and even use fresh or frozen fruit blended up with just a couple Tbls. of brown sugar instead of the high fructose & sugar laden jellies and jams! I have frozen serrano & jalopeno peppers from my garden and thinking I might drop either a whole one in or deseed & finely chop some for extra zip & the plus side of that is hot peppers speed up your metabolism! So go ahead ya'll. and just PLAY WITH YOUR FOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe and unfortunately did not like it. I must qualify this by saying I am not a liker of sweet anything, further I can not eat store bought ketchup it is to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States