Party Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Update: I now add a large can of petite diced tomatoes. That really adds a new twist and great flavor. My whole family loves this soup. I did add garlic and I boil a whole chicken (and add it shredded). Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I made this for a bridal shower and it was a huge hit. I loosely doubled the recipe, adding additional broth as needed (i added cups of water and chicken broth cubes). I also used a pork/beef combo for the meatballs. I added the chicken, too, but probably wasn't necessary. All the guests loved it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Loved this soup! I too used 1/2 sausage-1/2 ground beef and spiced the meatballs up with minced garlic and onion. Skipped the chicken. Added more garlic and Italian seasoning to the broth and used orzo pasta. I loved using the frozen chopped spinach. The 10 oz box was just right. Will add this to my soup list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Loved this soup - perfect on a cold rainy night! I added a couple of tablespoons of pesto to the meatballs - they were fantastic. Used a 48oz can and 2 14oz cans of broth - might just use 2 large cans next time as the flavor was plenty intense enough to handle the extra liquid. Next time would NOT use chopped spinach as it made the pot look like it was covered in grass clippings! (Using regular and chopping it myself would give a much better look to the dish. The accompanying photos definitely do not have chopped greens in them.) Definitely going into the rotation - wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is a great basic recipe for this soup. You definitely need more broth and I will try baking my meatballs first cause they do get kind of mushy. My 5 year old loves making this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This recipe is exactly what I wanted for Italian Wedding Soup. I always bought it canned and it was just too salty. This took a little while, but was completely worth it. I made a few changes per some other reviewer suggestions: doubled chicken broth, used 50-50 sausage and ground beef, and skipped the chicken altogether. Also I sauteed the veggies in some olive oil and added a few finely chopped garlic cloves. I will be making this a lot from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was tasty, although you HAVE TO double the broth or you end up eating a stew instead of a soup. The whole kitchen smelled warm and inviting while it simmered, and it was the perfect meal for the first cold night of autumn along with some Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Fantastic! I used this as a base but changed a few things so I think it ended up a mix of all the Italian wedding soup recipes. I omitted the chicken, used twice as much broth, added 1/3 cup of parmesan to the meatballs, and used acini de pepe pasta. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I would definetly suggest frying the meatballs to start the cooking before adding to the soup, so they don't have such a mushy consisteny, and you can drain out the grease. Also, I added twice as much broth, and it still wasn't enough. The leftovers look like a caserole, not a soup. I added seasoning, but everything still tasted bland. I am somewhat unimpressed with this recipe, but my boyfriend said it was "okay" so i gave it a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
It was Ok and I took others' advice and baked the meatballs ahead of time so they didn't crumble. However, found it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States