Party Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
I tried using grape flavored Jello, and I was not very happy with the taste. My kids, however, loved the grape flavor- as did kids from my church. (ages 3-12) I also tried rolling the balls in another package of grape Jello, to add more flavor, but I thought that it made the outside of the cookies kindof sour. (Probably why the kids liked them...) Next time I may try lemon or cherry flavor, and roll the balls in plain sugar, and then flatten them. You will need to add extra food coloring, as the coloring in the jello really isn't enough to color the entire batch of dough. I used my Pampered Chef small scooper to make identical sized cookies, and ended up with exactly 43 cookies. I also baked them on parchment for 7 minutes. Still soft inside, and only slightly browned on the bottoms. Over all, this was a good sugar cookie and they were very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly McNamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
surprisingly good! I used raspberry and subbed butter for shortening. Also, i rolled them in sugar and flattened with a glass before baking for 7 mins each. will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I was in a baking mood last night and after making some delicious oatmeal cookies, I tried these. I had jello on hand and used the ingredient search, voila!!! An instant hit! I work at a leading woment's fashion retailer and brought these in for my staff, they LOVED them! The most asked question? "What's in these that makes them so good?" Well, a little bit of jello and a whole lot of love... Thank you for the awesome recipe! It's going to be getting shared quite a bit! (I used raspberry gelatin powder and chopped up some milk chocolate squares and put them in the middle as a little chocolate fix for the girls!) Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I grew up making Jello cookies for Christmas using lime jello and cherry, raspberry, or cranberry flavored Jello. I love them, my daughter also loves to make them. To make the color richer, we add a few drops of food coloring to the cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This cookie was very good. I even made a sugar-free version using splenda. Use sugar-free jello and add 1/2 cup of splenda and reduce flour to two cups. Bake as normal. It doesn't make as many cookies, but they taste just as good. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
My husband loved these (gasp!!!). I wasnted more of a buttery taste to the so I made them with butter-flavored crisco. Kids loved them too. I think I may have over cooked them because they weren't moist enough... next time I make them, the cooking time will be shorter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Mine came out crispy, bland, and colorless. They reminded me of eating dog treats. It's a great idea, but really falls flat. I'm not a good enough baker to know how to modify this recipe to make this excellent idea get off the ground. I'm giving this two stars because my husband ate more than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made these cookies with my 7 year old son and they were super easy and fun to make! We used cherry jello, it was a bit tart, so we melted chocolate frosting and dipped the tops of the cookies in it. They taste kind of like a chocolate covered cherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Not very good. I used black cherry flavor and I didn't think they were very flavorful. The bottoms of my cookies burnt and I wonder if maybe the temp. was too high. There is just something missing with this recipe. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
tasted like dough, flavorless, tried lemon jello, even put some lemon rind in the cookies with lemon juice, and made a lemon icing, not sure if it was the lemon flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States