Party Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
I chose peach jello... the cookies were tasty, and the flavor was not overpowering. I plan to try different flavors in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I grew up making Jello cookies for Christmas using lime jello and cherry, raspberry, or cranberry flavored Jello. I love them, my daughter also loves to make them. To make the color richer, we add a few drops of food coloring to the cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I could not find my mom's jello cookie recipe, so tried this. The cookies were tasteless and dough like. My 7 year old son asked me not to bring them to school tomorrow. He said he knows what kids like and this wasn't it. I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
My kids and I had a blast making these! It took no time at all, and they felt like they really made something spectacular. The person who said they were tasteless and doughy must've made a mistake because they tasted great to me and my family. may need a bit more cooking time. We used cherry jello and can't wait to try different flavors to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I grew up with my grandma making jello cookies all the time. Although these do not taste the same, they are great all the same. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I was in a baking mood last night and after making some delicious oatmeal cookies, I tried these. I had jello on hand and used the ingredient search, voila!!! An instant hit! I work at a leading woment's fashion retailer and brought these in for my staff, they LOVED them! The most asked question? "What's in these that makes them so good?" Well, a little bit of jello and a whole lot of love... Thank you for the awesome recipe! It's going to be getting shared quite a bit! (I used raspberry gelatin powder and chopped up some milk chocolate squares and put them in the middle as a little chocolate fix for the girls!) Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I made these for valenties day. We used Strawberry jello and added sprinkles to the top. I tried shaping the cookies but could not. The kids really enjoyed them, particularly due to the color. I'm preparing to make some green ones for St. Patricks day. It's a great alternative to cut-outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Very easy,kids loved them and ate the first batch so I had to make another. Used lime jello for St Pats day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
I tried using grape flavored Jello, and I was not very happy with the taste. My kids, however, loved the grape flavor- as did kids from my church. (ages 3-12) I also tried rolling the balls in another package of grape Jello, to add more flavor, but I thought that it made the outside of the cookies kindof sour. (Probably why the kids liked them...) Next time I may try lemon or cherry flavor, and roll the balls in plain sugar, and then flatten them. You will need to add extra food coloring, as the coloring in the jello really isn't enough to color the entire batch of dough. I used my Pampered Chef small scooper to make identical sized cookies, and ended up with exactly 43 cookies. I also baked them on parchment for 7 minutes. Still soft inside, and only slightly browned on the bottoms. Over all, this was a good sugar cookie and they were very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly McNamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This was a pretty good cookie. Really sweet. I used strawberry jello and some people loved them while others thought they were too sweet. Overall though they were not bad. Will probably make them again with another flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States