Party Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
My mom gave me this recipe years ago, but it's a bit different...and truly yummy. Try using cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken. I use low fat soup and low fat sour cream. I use the bacon, but not the dried beef. Cover your dish with foil and bake for 3 hrs. at 350 degrees. Remove the foil during the last hour. The bacon is crispy this way and the chicken is very very moist. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This is the kind of dish that you only make on occasion. I cooked my bacon until it was nice and brown, but not totally crispy so that I could still wrap it around the chicken. I decided to use Golden Mushroom soup for more flavor but it did add quite a bit more salt. This really is a very flavorful dish that company would even enjoy. Thanks so much Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This dish is delicious!!! The only thing I would change is cooking the bacon a little before wrapping it around the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Instead of putting dried beef on bottom of 13 x 9, I pound the chicken breasts thin (between two pieces of clear wrap) and wrap the breast around half a package of thin-sliced beef sandwich meat, Next, slightly fry two pieces of bacon per breast, wrap around the breast and cover with soup/sour-cream blend. You can also add sauteed onion/celery/mushroom and include in the soup/cream mix. To make the chicken fork-tender, bake uncovered in 300 degree F oven for two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This is almost the exact same recipe as "Party Pork" also found on this site...with chicken. However, since we loved that recipe so much, I thought I'd try this out. Didn't shred the dried beef, just layered it on the bottom of the baking dish. Made exactly as written and it turned out very good. Although we all favor the pork version over the chicken - this is very good. As Zipporah stated, eliminating the dried beef will still result in a good dish - and possibly even less salty (unless you rinse the beef off first). Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
This was fantastic and oh, so easy. The sour cream in the soup gave it a nice tang. I made Rice-A-Riso to go with it and poured some of the soup mix over that as well...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
Good recipe! I added a teaspoon of freshly ground pepper to the sour cream/soup mixture. I used smoked back bacon - so it wasn't as salty. - - In response to a previous reviewer's comment that this was a "heart attack waiting to happen" - well - to us - that's rubbish - we only eat fast food at most TWICE a YEAR (and NEVER eat any type of frozen dinners!) - so we don't view the occasional home cooked indulgence as any type of health risk!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
In spite of using reduced sodium soup and rinsing the dried beef, we thought this was a bit too salty. The flavor was great, but I'd like to figure a way to cut the sodium even more. Thanks for sharing, Lori.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
I didn't like this receipe. It felt too heavy for me and I felt guilty eating it... like it was a heart attack waiting to happen. I didn't pre-cook the bacon so that was icky also. Overall I didn't like this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States