Party Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Instead of putting dried beef on bottom of 13 x 9, I pound the chicken breasts thin (between two pieces of clear wrap) and wrap the breast around half a package of thin-sliced beef sandwich meat, Next, slightly fry two pieces of bacon per breast, wrap around the breast and cover with soup/sour-cream blend. You can also add sauteed onion/celery/mushroom and include in the soup/cream mix. To make the chicken fork-tender, bake uncovered in 300 degree F oven for two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I made this because I had the ingredients on hand, minus the beef. I was pleasantly surprised. It was so easy (10 min. prep. then forget about it for 2 hours) and tasty. I followed the advice of another by cooking at 300 degrees for 2 hours. Mostly because I had household chores to do and this way I didn't have to sit over the oven and wait. I didn't have bacon in the house, but had Pancetta, and it was yummy, and cooked through with no problem (no pre-cooking). I served this over brown rice and received the ultimate compliment from my husband.... "Mom use to make chicken and rice like this". Comfort food for sure. I especially like that it's so easy to change out ingredients to your taste, like cream of mushroom instead of Chicken etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELIM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This dish was exceptional when I substituted cream of celery soup. Served over brown rice, fried with onions and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I made this for my husband and it did not come out as good as I had hoped for. The dish had a great flavor but the bacon was soggy and did not cook right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwifekg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I use cream of mushroom soup, it adds more flavor to me. I never include the beef, and only include the bacon once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I make this recipe a little different. I don't shred the beef, just lay it in the bottom of the pan. I don't precook the bacon. I also use 1 8 oz package of cream cheese, 2 cans cream of chicken soup, and 8 oz sour cream mixed together and poured over. I cook it for 2 hours at 300. It takes a little longer but all the meat is super tender and fabulous. All this served over white rice is rich but I also sometimes choose to use low fat versions of the soup, cream cheese, and the sour cream. Tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I love this chicken! HOWEVER, I received this recipe from my mom-in-law a while back and it is best if you cook the chicken at 275 for 3 hours. It is so tender that you can cut it with a fork. I would also agree with the other reviewer about cooking the bacon first. That's a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
With the addition of cream cheese to the sauce, and peppering the chicken, this recipe becomes "Chicken Breast Eden Isle".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I followed the recipe with a few slight changes. As others have suggested, be sure to rinse the beef or it will be way too salty. I cooked the bacon in a skillet and added a can of soup (I used 2 cans)and fresh mushrooms. Wait until the last 15-20 minutes to add this mixture to avoid overcooking the mushrooms. All in all a great dish. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I lost this recipe years ago,I was thrilled to see it here! This is delicious,moist and pretty enough for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States