Party Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I've made this recipe for years and agree with the reviewer who cooks it at 275 for 3 hours. It is so melt-in-your-mouth tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Wonderful recipe that has been in our family for years! Our difference is that we roll the beef inside the chicken and cook at 275 for 3 hours. Easily made with less calories - or just don't eat it as often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is fabulous! My college roommate gave me the recipe, because her mom used to make it all the time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I used cream of onion soup instead of cream of chicken, and it turned out yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I would give this 5 stars, my husband however was not a fan of the "heaviness" but I'm German and loved it! For my husband instead of wrapping the chicken in bacon, I cut a pocket into the side of the breast and stuffed it with bacon bits and swiss cheese. A wonderful addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth James, Midwest Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
didn't use the beef otherwise followed directions. Family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
My whole family loves this. I make it just a little bit differently and think the combination of the soups that I use make it better than just cream of chicken. I use 1 can cream of chicken & mushroom soup (both flavors combined into one can), 1 can cream of celery, and 1 cup sour cream for the sauce. All the rest of the ingredients are the same but I don't shred the dried beef. I put one slice of dried beef on each side of the chicken breast and wrap the bacon around, ends down. Cooking it longer and slower is the key to the chicken getting so tender. I've never overcooked it and have left it on 275 as long as 3 1/2 hours and it's been great every time. I also recommend at least partially cooking the bacon or removing it before serving because it is soggy. But the bacon flavor that it gives the chicken and the sauce is really yummy. Also, this sauce is SO GOOD that we usually have mashed potatoes with it and use the sauce for gravy. You can cut down on a little of the sodium by buying lower sodium soups, but the fat free versions don't seem to work as well (including the sour cream). I don't make it often because it's fattening, but my family loves it when I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I make this recipe once every few months. I use cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken. I also omit the beef. It is kind of a heavy dish, but oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyssasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is a recipe that my mom also gave me a long time ago. Our family calls it "Chicken ala Riche". The only difference with ours is we use Cream of Mushroom soup instead of chicken. I always cook the bacon ahead of time. I think if you never had this recipe as a child, it is a very different taste for those who did and truly love it. Glad to see it is on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I grew up with both my Grandma AND Mom making this, only using Buddig beef. I make it myself every once and a while with the Buddig beef or dried beef. It's not something you want to make frequently, as it is a bit of a Heart Attack on a Plate kind of meal, but it is darn tasty. TIP: Make sure you soak and rinse the beef a couple times and blot, to get rid of some of the overkill salty brine taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States