Party Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Good flavor but quite sweet. The texture was only good right at first; it seemed to get a bit crusty/grainy after it sat for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warman, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was the BEST frosting ever! Sooo beautiful and creamy and wonderful! My kids LOVED it! It takes a really long time to get egg whites just right! Don't give up....its worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
If I could give this 10 stars , I would. This is sooo good. For those who don't like overly sweet frosting , like my husband. I used an entire 3 oz. box of strawberry gelatin. Great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII0988

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this per instruction, it was interesting. The sugar never dissolved fully and it never quite reached the stiff peak stage. It got close and then seemed to want to separate again. Not sure exactly what I did wrong. Tastes very sugary. Will try again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
LOVE this!!! Use a 1/4 cup of a jello pack, because you can't use the whole packet because it is 3oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This looked like such a good recipe, and I really hoped to give this a good rating, but for me the recipe turned out so poor. I also increased the recipe amounts by a half, since I had a 3oz jello packet. The jello gives it a very strong flavor, just really different from the stuff I'm used to. It was also a little oozy. And I whipped and whipped this stuff! After whipping it, I put the bowl in the fridge for a 1/2 hour, but it just didn't set up like I needed it to. My cupcakes looked like shiny plastic toys with frosting slowly dripping off the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Awesome recipe!!! Tastes similar to starburst candies. After frosting my cake, I baked spoonfuls of the frosting for 5 to 7 minutes at 3:75. They turned out somewhat marshmallowy. Very tasty treat. (Very sweet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dee dee sweetie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
i don't know what i did wrong! is it supposed to be gritty? fluffed up pretty. my bf said it would have had a good taste if it wasn't so gritty. maybe next time i'll try melting the jello and sugar in the water then adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I dont know what I did wrong but it turned out unspreadable. Im giving it three stars in honor of my error - because it still tasted good, but I had to throw it away. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I'm not sure if I am clear on what size box of jello to use because I didn't find a 1 oz. box in the store. My frosting turned out very sticky and almost unable to frost with. Otherwise it tasted a lot like laffy taffy as someone else had commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States