Party Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
i was admittedly skeptical at first. i made it and it was very runny. but it cooled for a while and thickened up. it was perfect. i made it for a valentines party on cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This frosting was delicious. My kids say that it tastes like laffy taffy. It has a marshmellowy texture. It was fairly simple to make. I used the small box of jello, and since it was a 3 oz. size, I did a 1 1/2 recipe. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
excellent recipe-used it for my daughters birthday cake. I used 2 tablespoons of jello from a big box of raspberry flavor. Pretty pink color. Also, leftovers refrigerated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I had made cupcakes and did not have any frosting. I found this and thought well I have all the stuff what is the worst to happen? Well let me tell you this is a MUST TRY! (I used cherry jello) I made it and had to wait for cupcakes to bake, I put the frosting in the frig and it was great! A sure make again. Thank you Judith for such a wonderful frosting! My huddy liked it and so did a neighbor girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Awesome recipe!!! Tastes similar to starburst candies. After frosting my cake, I baked spoonfuls of the frosting for 5 to 7 minutes at 3:75. They turned out somewhat marshmallowy. Very tasty treat. (Very sweet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dee dee sweetie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
LOVE this!!! Use a 1/4 cup of a jello pack, because you can't use the whole packet because it is 3oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
If I could give this 10 stars , I would. This is sooo good. For those who don't like overly sweet frosting , like my husband. I used an entire 3 oz. box of strawberry gelatin. Great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII0988

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was the BEST frosting ever! Sooo beautiful and creamy and wonderful! My kids LOVED it! It takes a really long time to get egg whites just right! Don't give up....its worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Joynt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I thought this was excellent the sprinkles even stuck to the frosting without having to press them in, however my prissy three year old doesn't like anything stickey on her hands and was not thrilled with it on the cupcakes and refused to finish them :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I'm not sure if I am clear on what size box of jello to use because I didn't find a 1 oz. box in the store. My frosting turned out very sticky and almost unable to frost with. Otherwise it tasted a lot like laffy taffy as someone else had commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States