Parsnip and Carrot Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
So I was not sure how I would feel about this going in. But I grew a lot of parsnips and just harvested them all and was thinking "What can I do that's quicker than roasting them?" So I tried this recipe and I'm glad I did! This was simple and so tasty! I probably used only 4-5 Tbsp butter because it was what I had left. Otherwise I didn't change a thing. The butter makes it taste rich but the carrot and parsnip sweetness come through. Loved it and definitely making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Love this and make it regularly. We have done it mashed by had and with an immersion blender. The smooth texture is better in my opinion, but if you aren't able to blend the mixture, don't avoid trying it!! The flavors are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Very good but a quick tip. Try to avoid the really big parsnips when you make this (over 1.5-2 inches at the top), they seem to add a bitterness to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Yum! Served with Salmon Tango (on this site). Did it a food processor added a bit of hot water to get a smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was okay for me. I added a little nutmeg like other reviewers suggested. I had never eaten parsnip before, and I found it to have an unusual taste. Not bad, just different. I didn't have an immersion blender, so mine was chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charvey
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Easy recipe, delicious results. We don't have an immersion blender so I poured the boiled carrots and parsnips into the kitchen blender after draining and added chives and butter. Blended til smooth, prodding with a wooden spoon to keep the mixture moving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Delicious! My only modification was holding off on the additional 3 tbs of butter and add a few splashes of cream. Can't wait to make it again. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
By golly, this really was fabulicious! A great alternative to mashed potatoes, and very easy to make. Stayed w/ the 4:1 ratio of parsnips to carrots as called for by the recipe submitter, and glad we didn’t veer off course as the wonderful flavor of the parsnips shined through. The 8 medium and large sized parsnips weighed in at 2 pounds, and 8 ounces of baby carrots were used. We made the following ‘tweaks’: 2X snipped chives as listed, and added 2 tablespoons honey and a dash of nutmeg. Thank you ‘Always Cooking Up Something’ for a fantastic vegetable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I got a nice smooth texture with the following modifications to the technique: drain the cooked parsnips/carrots and return to hot pot. Add chives and whole stick (8T) of butter, stir until melted. Transfer mixture to food processor and let food processor run for several minutes until vegetables are smooth. If you have a small-ish food processor you may need to do this in batches. If the vegetables cool too much during this time, pop them in the oven at 350 for a few minutes until hot again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very nice, here's my take on it: - cooked everything in 2/3 water, 1/3 milk with a bit of chicken broth, gives a nice taste - used half carrot/half parsnip - also some yellow green beans and just a bit of potatoes (the latter are unnecessary but I do recommend the beans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Celery Root and Potato Puree

See what earthy celery root does for basic mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States