Parsnip and Carrot Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Very good but a quick tip. Try to avoid the really big parsnips when you make this (over 1.5-2 inches at the top), they seem to add a bitterness to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Yum! Served with Salmon Tango (on this site). Did it a food processor added a bit of hot water to get a smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was okay for me. I added a little nutmeg like other reviewers suggested. I had never eaten parsnip before, and I found it to have an unusual taste. Not bad, just different. I didn't have an immersion blender, so mine was chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charvey
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Easy recipe, delicious results. We don't have an immersion blender so I poured the boiled carrots and parsnips into the kitchen blender after draining and added chives and butter. Blended til smooth, prodding with a wooden spoon to keep the mixture moving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Delicious! My only modification was holding off on the additional 3 tbs of butter and add a few splashes of cream. Can't wait to make it again. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
By golly, this really was fabulicious! A great alternative to mashed potatoes, and very easy to make. Stayed w/ the 4:1 ratio of parsnips to carrots as called for by the recipe submitter, and glad we didn’t veer off course as the wonderful flavor of the parsnips shined through. The 8 medium and large sized parsnips weighed in at 2 pounds, and 8 ounces of baby carrots were used. We made the following ‘tweaks’: 2X snipped chives as listed, and added 2 tablespoons honey and a dash of nutmeg. Thank you ‘Always Cooking Up Something’ for a fantastic vegetable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I got a nice smooth texture with the following modifications to the technique: drain the cooked parsnips/carrots and return to hot pot. Add chives and whole stick (8T) of butter, stir until melted. Transfer mixture to food processor and let food processor run for several minutes until vegetables are smooth. If you have a small-ish food processor you may need to do this in batches. If the vegetables cool too much during this time, pop them in the oven at 350 for a few minutes until hot again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very nice, here's my take on it: - cooked everything in 2/3 water, 1/3 milk with a bit of chicken broth, gives a nice taste - used half carrot/half parsnip - also some yellow green beans and just a bit of potatoes (the latter are unnecessary but I do recommend the beans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Fabulous change of pace vegetable. I followed the recipe, but not necessarily the proportions. I just used the one huge parsnip I had and three carrots. Delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Stauffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We really liked this, I didn't have chives so I just used salt and pepper, only used half the butter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Celery Root and Potato Puree

See what earthy celery root does for basic mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States